Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HTML Editor

Thanks

Default HTML Editor

i'm a newbie in HTML coding... i just want to ask, what is the best editor for HTML?

Thanks

A text based application that lets you deal with the html.

Some like plain old notepad.

Personally, I like dreamweaver... it saves time using some of the detauls so I don't have to type all that out, but it has a code/preview view option so my code is always showing.... never surprising me.

In general, WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get) (preview-based) html editors have issues and will make more trouble than they are worth.

They can be a useful tool, but be SURE to keep an eye on the code.

If you just want to code a page because you need it done, fine, use something that does it for you.
    If you want to learn this and/or get top-of-the-line or even error-free pages, code it by hand, or at least check by hand.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

Thanks
    Thanked 3,240 Times in 3,201 Posts
    Blog Entries

Do you want to learn how to code or do you just want to make web pages and have the editor write the code for you?
    - John

Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

Thanks

i want to learn how to code

Thanks
    Blog Entries

Then I'd suggest getting a nice syntax highlighting editor like Edit Pad Pro. It is commercial but cheap, there are free ones available. Syntax highlighting allows you to see where tags begin and end and where their attributes are and where comments are, more easily due to color coding. Good editors also have some way of storing frequently used clips for easy insertion.

And use a nice tutorial site like this one:

http://www.w3schools.com/html/default.asp
    - John