Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Get the Last modified date of an external text file?

Thanks

Default Get the Last modified date of an external text file?

Hi there all,

I'm new to JavaScript, so excuse me if this is in the "gosh that's so simple" area.

I was wondering if there was a simple JS function to get the last modified date of an external text file. I've tried the "document.lastmodified" function, but (obviously) this returns the current web pages' date.

Its just for a simple price list/data table page that will look for the newly uploaded "prices.txt" and use that as a "Prices correct as at: 08/05/06" type of thing.

all the best,

Tony L.
    Last edited by KegExpress; 05-08-2006 at 11:56 PM. Reason: I wanted email notification turned on.

Thanks

document.lastmodified will work only with the current document. For external text file my suggestion is to use server side script instead.

Here is an example on how to do it using ASP.Net:
    Code:
    Dim strLastModified As String
    strLastModified = System.IO.File.GetLastWriteTime(Server.MapPath("prices.txt")).ToString("D")
    lblMsg.Text = "Prices correct as at: " & LastModified

Thanks

Otaku is right.

That's a server side thing... you can't do stuff on the server client side. Kinda the point, sadly.

However, i'd look into PHP before ASP. Your choice though.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

Thanks

Ah Dang,

I wanted the "Quick-And-Dirty" answer, seems a bit OTT to have to learn yet another programing language

thanks of the help anyway,

Tony L.

PS: a QAD answer, after looking for a few days for it - now that's optomism!! lol

Thanks

The only chance is if the file stores that data in a place you can access it. Might work... dunno.