Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Advanced RSS Ticker - Stuck on "Initializing ticker"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Advanced RSS Ticker - Stuck on "Initializing ticker"

    Advanced RSS Ticker
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...rsstickerajax/

    =====

    Thank you in advance for your help.

    I just installed the Advanced RSS Ticker on the UNIFEM website. However, the ticker gets stuck on "Initializing ticker," and the items in the RSS file do not get displayed.

    Ticker is here (in the beige box):
    http://www.unifem.org/index_30th.php
    You'll notice that the spot where the timeline item is supposed to appear, there's a message that reads "Initializing ticker."

    Source RSS file:
    http://www.unifem.org/feeds/unifem_timeline.xml

    The demo seems to work just fine:
    http://www.unifem.org/lib/rsstickerajax/demo.htm

    And so does bridge.php:
    http://www.unifem.org/lib/rsstickera...UNIFEMtimeline

    Any idea why it doesn't work on the index_30th.php page?

    Thanks for your assistance.

    --
    Web Manager
    UNIFEM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,878
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 962 Times in 951 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    From what I can tell, the problem is because on the problem page, you're actually calling a non existent RSS feed. The code:

    Code:
    new rssticker_ajax("utl", 1200, "tlbox", "tlstyle", 3500, "date+description");
    on http://www.unifem.org/index_30th.php tells the script to call:

    http://www.unifem.org/lib/rsstickera...dge.php?id=utl

    which as you can see, doesn't exist. I gather what you want is:

    Code:
    new rssticker_ajax("UNIFEMtimeline", 1200, "tlbox", "tlstyle", 3500, "date+description");

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    There is another slight problem with the ticker script. It relies on each item having both the <title> and <link> present in the feed. The "initialising ticker" message appears if, say, the link is empty - and links arn't always required in a news feed.
    Otherwise a very good and useful script. Many thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I actually have the same problem with the website I'm making for my non-profit organization. I've been running through the code and I just can't figure out why it won't move on from "Initializing ticker..." on the site. On my homepage, it doesn't load. Help!

    Script: Advanced RSS Ticker
    My Site: http://www.ahsleoclub.org/test/
    rssticker.js: http://ahsleoclub.org/test/rssticker.js
    bridge.php: http://ahsleoclub.org/test/lastrss/bridge.php
    lastrss.php: http://ahsleoclub.org/test/lastrss/lastRSS.php

    Thanks in advanced.
    Last edited by kowyzg0moo; 10-08-2006 at 10:51 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    okay I'm still looking for help on this situation. Anyone out there who can help?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,878
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 962 Times in 951 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Hi Kowy:
    Your test URL http://www.ahsleoclub.org/test/ returns a page not found. Anyhow, please start a new thread when asking a question, instead of replying to someone else's. It just makes it easier on everyone viewing the forums.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •