Advanced Search

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Huge problem with Iframes...Plz HELP!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Huge problem with Iframes...Plz HELP!

    Hi Everyone,

    I just realized after finalizing my web site that I have a huge problem...As you can see, once you select a product on the left side of the home page, the items and the first page gets mixed/overwritten...(Web site is www.global-uniforms.com) , basically I'd like to know if there a function that deletes the target page before posting the source page on it...Hope I was able to express myself...

    Thx for all your help...
    Lat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,154
    Thanks
    260
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Well... looks like you've got it going just fine.

    Make a new value for displaying that original stuff (cook/waiter), like you would setup a link to it.

    But instead of using a link to go to it, use javascript in the body tag to load it:
    <body onLoad="jsfunction">

    Not sure... 'cause you need to go to an address.
    But... maybe... document.frame.location? *I think*...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    hmmm..I'm not too familiar with Java so I don't really understand what todo..

    Bascially I need to erase the cook/chef when loading products that are selected on the right, as is, the cook/chef are part of the background, thus all sources for the target frame overwrite the chef\cook and everything gets mixed up!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,154
    Thanks
    260
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    javascript... not java. different things entirely

    Not to insult you, but that code is absolutely horrendous. What possible reason do you have for such insanely complex code?
    It looks like you're using VML (IE only from what I understand) then, for like 40% of your visitors, using an alternate layout for them, all based in some language I'm not familiar with... ifs... html doesn't have ifs that I am aware of.
    Anyway... DROP THE VML!.... not doing you any good. It's insane... not only is it complex and fairly messy, but the html code is translated into ampersand characters so that, I guess, it can be stored then displayed later. Weird.
    It's so hard to read that... wow.

    It took me about 5 minutes to find the iframe tag and get a basic understanding of how the page worked... heh.

    Seriously, redesign the page using SIMPLE html and tables, and you'll be SO much better off. Really. Just trying to help... that VML isn't doing you anything, and is actually confusing the problem at hand.

    As for your iframe,
    <iframe name="FRAME1" width="500" height="570" frameborder="0" scrolling="no" allowautotransparency=true></iframe>
    There's no src= bit in there. add <iframe ... src="defaultpictures.htm"> for the two pictures that load at the beginning.
    Dump ALL the random junk that is displaying the pictures now... it's making it messy... those aren't even in the iframe from what I can tell, but rather, somehow, displayed on the page.. I guess since transparency is enabled, you are showing through to the page behind it, causing, yes, overlapping (surprise, heh) with these images when something IS in the iframe.

    So... add the src=.

    Then take out the extra code for the pictures.

    Then, that src=url will be replaced with whatever you click as a link with a target of that frame. It WILL override it, just like the links right now override each other, just not the code at the start.

    Also, probly take OFF allowtransparncy="true" 'cause that's why you have a layered effect.


    Really... is there any reason for the vml?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thx for taking the time to answer my questions...Yet I just used Microsoft Publisher to create the web site, so blame Bill Gates for making such a terrible program...lol, I'm just a newbie and found Publisher to be very user friendly..

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hey DJR33, took your advice on what was in my capacity of understanding. I've got the homepage working at least for IE, thx for your help!!! Was well apreciated..

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Well, that's one major browser down... four more to go?
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,154
    Thanks
    260
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Well... your answer... don't use a microsoft program EVER to make a webpage.

    MICROSOFT publisher (like )
    MIRCOSOFT internet explorer

    they hate competition, and, yes, I do blame them... so don't use them

    Glad it's working.

    Just... really.. that code is so complex unneccesarily... just use tables and images and you're done... that code is crazy. If you didn't purposefully put VML (virtual markup language, IE only), then you ABSOLUTELY don't want that.

    Look into dreamweaver.
    Look into (free) netscape composer (not great, but free and it works)
    or something else (I think twey has a favorite... can't remember the link)

    And, as you get into this, start getting into the code... it's worth it in the end

    Use WYSIWYG as a boost, but not as a crutch.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    121
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    nvu is semi decent f/oss, and its a wysiwyg also, link is nvu.com, heck, it'll even work in linux

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,154
    Thanks
    260
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Free too... probably worth checking out. Sure

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •