Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: how to send orders from webshop to fax

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default how to send orders from webshop to fax

    i need a script that sends the orders from my webshop to my suppliers fax. is that possible? i was thinking i could use a modem to send the data, but i don't know how to send the correct data to the modem- is there any help out there?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    It's possible, but I'm not sure as to the specifics of how to implement it. Sorry.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,164
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    I guess you'd need to use the IP of the fax machine or something, then just send the data, but in the right format.

    No clue.

    For some reason I'd think this would be better in some other language than PHP, 'cause it's so advanced.

    Maybe CGI.

    Twey? What do you think?

    If you do want to use php, just look at php.net, and if its available it'll be there somewhere. Or, maybe it's only as an extension. In that case, google "fax php"... but no clue.

    This would be cool, though.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    well im gonna take a look at php.net or check out my options with cgi... ill give some feedback if i figure it out

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,164
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Note: thought about it more... the fax machine doesn't have an IP... just a telephone number... you'd need to connect to the phone system.
    Might as well write a php script to make a phone call, but send fax data instead. same thing, really.... just different data.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    yeah i got to the same result. i figured i would use my phone line- i got unlimited calls anyway. but i have no clue on how to write such a script

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,164
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    The thing is... php is a net based thing... why are you bothering with that?
    You're talking about using a phone line.

    Make your own program, not a webpage.

    And, looked a bit on php.net out of curiosity, and found nothing.
    There are some cool features I saw, though, but nothing relevant, heh.
    (Like one that reads text as sound... no clue how you play it... but... interesting )

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    the only problem is that i have no clue on how to make such a program
    but a mate of mine (the one im doing this project with) is studying java programming and he thought he might be able to figure it out. i have been trying to find other alternatives on the internet, but i cant seem to find anything relevant

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,164
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Twey says it's possible in php. I'm surprised.
    Still... seems like you could just do this with a program. You're gonna have to learn something, heh.

    Hmm... you're kinda confusing me. You say about your 'webshop' and at the same time about your fax.... just you? other users?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,876
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    The important thing to remember is that there should be a program to handle this already.
    If you're running a *n?x server, you can install fax(1), efax(1) and efix(1) and use fax(1); then it's just a case of adding a shell_exec() call in the right place. If you're using Windows, you'd have to try to find an equivalent (CLI-based fax-handling program), or send the data to the modem and/or device manually. This is where it would get tricky. I think that would be possible in PHP, but you may have to use a more powerful language for some of the low-level stuff.
    Last edited by Twey; 04-30-2006 at 11:44 AM.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •