Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Help - Code discrepency - Full Screen code

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Help - Pinning the page in place

    Hi All.

    Thank you all for participating on this forum topic.

    To jscheuer1: your code below works:

    var newWin=window.open(whatever)
    newWin.moveTo(0,0);
    newWin.resizeTo(screen.width, screen.height);

    ONE LAST THING:

    I do not want the window to move once it's been popped up. I need to someone greyout and disable the "Restore Down" icon at the top right hand corner of the title bar (and perhaps the minimize and close icons too)

    Does anyone out there know how to do that?

    Any advice is appreciated.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    It is not possible.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Docking the IE Window

    Hi all

    Thank you for participating on this forum board thread.

    How does one "DOCK" The Internet Explorer window?

    I know that this is possible. The ability to make the IE window not move so it's not draggable.

    This should be a simple one-liner for those that are in the know.

    Any feedback is appreicated.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Well, this might work:
    Code:
    window.onmove = function(){window.moveTo(0,0);return false;};
    But it still sounds like something that should be blocked by most modern browsers. I know it won't work with Firefox.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Covering the full screen...

    Hi.

    In reply to Jscheuer1, I implemented your code

    var newWin=window.open(whatever)
    newWin.moveTo(0,0);
    newWin.resizeTo(screen.width, screen.height);

    Locally it works great. My page pops open and takes up the full screen.

    On the live site, from my server, The new window does not cover the bottom of the window where the start icon, minimize tray and CPU clock lives.

    Do you or anyone else understand why there is this discrepancy?

    Is there specific code I may write that says cover this region as well?

    Your continued participation on this thread is appreciated.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,069
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    What is your target browser and is this for the web or for a local intranet?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Answer to jscheuer1

    Hi jscheuer1.

    My code is for IE on the web. I also run it locally on a single machine running IIS.

    It shows two different results. Locally the page spans the screen, This sdoes not occur on-line, on the web, the start menu and icon bar displaying at the bottom of the screen. I'm stumped.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,069
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Have you tried the 'fullscreen' specification from post#10 in this thread?

    Anyways, it may be security feature or be because IE has more time to allow for the taskbar due to the lag time of running the code from the web.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •