Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: RSS feeds using YQL stopped working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default RSS feeds using YQL stopped working

    Displaying RSS feeds using YQL, a Google Feed API alternative

    http://www.javascriptkit.com/dhtmltutors/yqlfeeds.shtml

    This has stopped working, even on the demo page. I only noticed today (29/8/17), but another commenter says it stopped for him on 25/8/17.

    Does anyone know if yahoo have stopped supporting this? I read somewhere about 6 months ago (sorry to be vague there) that they may drop it, just as Google dropped their RSS feed api thing which it replaced.

    Any help appreciated.
    cheers.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,374
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 3,421 Times in 3,382 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I think it may depend upon what method you're using. Or just be a temporary network issue. The Dynamic Drive script:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...sdisplayer.htm*

    appears to still work, but it seems spotty. I've had another report from someone using YQL in a completely different environment (Tumbler), where they claimed it was sporadic, but when I checked the page, it seemed fine at the time.


    *see also (unofficial update, may be more stable):

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/s...yer-SSL-Update

    But my thinking is that that, since I cannot easily find any information on it being discontinued, and because all implementations still appear to work, if sporadically, Yahoo hasn't suspended it. Probably just network lag either on Yahoo's end, the feed supplier's end, or just generally. The javascriptkit script demo page wouldn't work for me at first, but later I saw that the Digg feed did come through in Chrome, once, then later the BBC one in Opera, again, once. This is consistent with what the other poster said he saw using Tumbler, though his page was fine when I looked at it.

    I'd give it a few days and see if it settles down again. If you do see a report from Yahoo though, saying it's discontinued, please post a link to it.

    Oh, and if you have PHP, you can host your own feed fetching code in a variety of ways which would likely be more reliable than anything YQL can offer.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 08-28-2017 at 03:02 AM. Reason: add info
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    dannwebb (08-28-2017)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1 View Post
    I think it may depend upon what method you're using. Or just be a temporary network issue. ...
    Thanks, I appreciate all that information; thanks for taking the time. I'll see what I can do.

    I'm in a corporate environment. The Google feed was set up for me by our webmaster, but when Google abandoned it he abandoned me and hasn't offered an alternative, so I used this script myself. We do have PHP, but I'm no programmer (although I've certainly adapted some PHP to suit my needs in the past); HTML and CSS are my areas of real knowledge.

    Thanks again.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,374
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 3,421 Times in 3,382 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Well, for use with PHP, I would recommend:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...ybox/index.htm

    Or the unofficial but more current:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/s...744#post317744

    I did have another thought on what the issue with YUI/YQL might be. I recall when I was looking into it before (I did some work on the DD script soon after it had been converted to YUI/YQL and wrote my own slightly different version as well), that there was some mention, or at least I think there was some mention about registering your application. But as everything seemed to work fine at that time, I didn't look too seriously into it. What may have happened though is that Yahoo may have since decided to limit full functionality to those with registration. Usually these sorts of registrations are free, or at least free for the amount of usage the average non-commercial page would need. But if it was required/suggested (which the more I think about it, I think it was), it was unclear to me how to apply it to the DD script. It may be able to be applied to the script in general, or it may need to be applied to each particular use of the script someone puts it to. I'll try to look into this further.

    OK, I did that, and was unable to easily find any information about needing to register applications. Perhaps I had imagined it. I did, however, find an official Yahoo announcement that they are terminating active development of YUI dated 8/14! In that announcement they said that they would continue to add fixes/patches essential for "Yahoo properties", but that active development would cease. It's unclear if that has anything to do with the current issues with the YUI/YQL based RSS scripts or not.

    The announcement:

    https://yahooeng.tumblr.com/post/960...-regarding-yui

    The official YQL console appears to still be up and in working order:

    https://developer.yahoo.com/yql/console/
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 08-28-2017 at 02:22 PM. Reason: add info
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    dannwebb (08-28-2017)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you again for your response.

    It would appear that I'm going to be left without this feed in my medical newsletter .. the SimplePie solution is not an option for me in my situation. I don't have access to modify our PHP environment (the requirements for SimplePie state that some required extensions are not enabled by default, and the wrangling I'd have to go through to get that to happen is not worth my time).

    Man .. all I want is to display some health and medical headings and snippets of news on a medical library newsletter .. so complicated.

    Looks like I'll be going back to doing it manually

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,374
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 3,421 Times in 3,382 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    If it's your own site's feed you may be able to use the local feeds displayer. If so I can link you to that.

    Also, though it's often common for certain settings not to be the default to allow simplepie to operate, these days, often they are. If the feed isn't local, you should at least try simplepie out. It will save you so much time in the long run if it works.

    Finally, for now, I think the problem with YQL may just be temporary. You should try it again in a few days.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I typically display feeds from BBC Health, Reuters Health, CBC Health, MedGadget.com, Science.org .. that sort of thing. Pretty simple, nothing fancy .. just a heading, a snippet, and a link to the story.

    It looks like YQL is starting to work again, but it's dodgy.. each time I reload the page some feeds appear, then they don't, then they do .. *sigh*.

    I'll have another look at simplepie, and figure out whereabouts in the instructions I can jump in to give it a try (obviously I'll have to skip all the initial setup stuffs).

    Thanks very much; I really appreciate your advice.

  10. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,374
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 3,421 Times in 3,382 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    OK, I guess this was really bugging me. So I've been messing around with it off and on for a few days. I've discovered the problem is that, even with the most direct method, which I determined to be having a script that has as it's source the the YQL address, followed by the encoded query and the name of a callback function to execute once the script loads, sometimes the query object comes back with 0 results. So I decided to use this as a prompt to repeat the request up to 20 times (well actually 20 times the number of feeds in an instance, but comes out to at least 20 tries per feed), which appears usually more than sufficient to get any given feed in spite of the occasional empty response. In my testing I discovered that one of my test feeds had changed its address and even with its new address was unreliable, so make sure all of your feed addresses are current and reliable (try them out directly in the browser).

    I've written this into a script that can be used with:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...sdisplayer.htm

    Here's the updated script:

    http://jscheuer1.com/gfeedcatch/gfee...r-scripttag.js


    It no longer requires:

    Code:
    <script src="http://yui.yahooapis.com/3.18.1/build/yui/yui-min.js"></script>
    so skip that part of the demo page instruction. In fact in step 1, use just the updated code attached to this post. The rest of the documentation on usage all still applies.

    And here's a demo of the new code in action. Still on rare occasion has trouble mostly due to slow connects with the feeds though I think:

    http://jscheuer1.com/gfeedcatch/demo.htm

    Let me know if you have any questions or problems.

    Note: After putting this live I see a slight problem with the last demo (3 feeds in one) sometimes getting crossed up with itself resulting in duplicate entries. I'll have to look into that to see what might be able to be done about it.

    OK I think that's fixed now.

    After further testing, definitely seems fixed, still works like a charm, and no more misses after about 100 page loads. Tested in IE11 (in IE11 and IE9 modes), latest Firefox, Chrome, and Opera, including tablet and smart phone emulation.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 09-01-2017 at 11:05 PM. Reason: add info
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  11. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,374
    Thanks
    77
    Thanked 3,421 Times in 3,382 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Oh, and if you want to use something like the javascriptkit code, this works most of the time:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html>
    <head>
    <title></title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">
    
    </head>
    <body>
     
    <div id="qznews"></div>
     
    <script>
    (function(c){
    	var uniquename = 'qznews' // id of target div
    	var query = 'select * from rss(0,5) where url = "http://qz.com/feed/"'; // query as explained in original version
    	var numretries = 30; // increase this number (number of retries) if you're still having problems
    
    		//////// No Need To Edit Beyond Here Unless You Want To /////////
    
    	var counter = typeof c === 'number'? c : numretries;
    	var thisf = arguments.callee;
    	var head = document.getElementsByTagName('head')[0];
    	var s = document.createElement('script');
    	window["callback_" + uniquename + (--counter)] = function(r){
    		head.removeChild(s);
    		if(r && r.query && r.query.count === 0 && counter > 0){
    			return thisf(counter);
    		}
    		//r now contains the result of the YQL Query as a JSON
    		var feedmarkup = '<p>';
    		var feed = r.query.results.item // get feed as array of entries
    		for (var i=0; i<feed.length; i++){
    			feedmarkup += '<a href="' + feed[i].link + '">';
    			feedmarkup += feed[i].title + '</a><br />';
    			feedmarkup += feed[i].description + '</p>';
    		}
    		document.getElementById(uniquename).innerHTML = feedmarkup;
    	};
    	var baseurl = "https://query.yahooapis.com/v1/public/yql?q=";
    	s.src = baseurl + encodeURIComponent(query) + "&format=json&callback=callback_" + uniquename + counter;
    	head.append(s);
    })();
    </script>
    </body>
    </html>
    Demo:

    http://jscheuer1.com/gfeedcatch/jsk-demo-st.htm
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 09-03-2017 at 04:13 AM. Reason: remove diagnostic, add demo
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  12. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    This is great .. thanks so much for your time and effort.

    I really have no preference for what to use .. I just want it to work and to be reliable .. "set and forget", yanno

    As soon as I have time here at work to have a proper look at this I'll definitely do so. I don't like things randomly disappearing like that; it's not a good look for us, so a change in method is certain.

    thanks again.

Similar Threads

  1. FaseSlideShow Script not working stopped working on Sunday?
    By JARDesign in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-18-2014, 01:25 PM
  2. Lytebox stopped working for me
    By SundayBuffalo in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-05-2009, 03:28 PM
  3. Mind stopped working
    By vaibhav24in in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-12-2007, 11:05 AM
  4. My script stopped working, please help
    By martin_thomasr in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-05-2006, 12:23 PM
  5. Pop-up Window Stopped Working
    By NoClue in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-17-2004, 11:16 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •