Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: A few problems with the Smooth Navigational Menu (v3.02)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default A few problems with the Smooth Navigational Menu (v3.02)

    1) Script Title: Smooth Navigational Menu (v3.02)

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...smoothmenu.htm

    3) Describe problem: I cannot seem to get the arrows to show up on the menu. I have installed the menu pretty much as it was when I downloaded the files, with the only change to the arrowimages: in the js file. In the js file, I have arrowimages: {down:['downarrowclass', 'images/down.gif', 23], right:['rightarrowclass', 'right.gif']}, and I placed the down.gif in my images folder, but they are not visible on the webpage.

    You can see the page where it is installed at http://www.johnsesl.com/responsive

    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    This menu has been updated many, many times since the version you are using. My first suggestion would be to get rid of it completely, download the new menu and start over.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Where do I download the new menu? I went to bed last night and the menu was working (except for the arrows) and this morning it won't even display on the webpage. I have never had this happen before. I haven't done anything to the code, it just stopped working, it's like there is nothing there.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    The most recent official code is available here:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...smoothmenu.htm

    BTW - I also noticed that the menu wasn't showing up at all. According to my browser, that was due to the main division being set to display: none in the css. But I cannot be more specific about that now because I see that the page on your site that you linked to in your original post appears to be no longer there.

    Anyways, I changed that (removed the display: none) using the browser's console and the menu appeared to work OK - ish, at least the arrows part, but clicking on a selection with an arrow obliterated it's heading until clicking elsewhere restored the menu to its default state. Still not optimal.

    In any case, my advice still holds. Many improvements were made to this code since 2012 (date of the version you had up).
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    In which css are you referring to where the main division was set to display: none? I done loaded the css and js files from the DD website and replaced the old files. The menu appears to be working, but still haven't got the arrows to work. Can the path to the images be absolute or do they have to be relative? I have tried both and neither seems to work.
    Last edited by aminkorea; 08-18-2017 at 05:25 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I finally figured it out and everything is working now. I still have one issue, though, and I am not sure if you will be able to help after reading the faq.

    I want to have my main menu on the top and a secondary menu just over the main text. According to the instructions on DD's site, this can be accomplished using one horizontal and one vertical menu. The problem is that I want both menus to be horizontal. See http://www.johnsesl.com/responsive/grammar/ as an example. The problem I am having is that the smaller menu completely disappears at the break point for smaller screen devices. I have tried using two different names for the css files and two different IDs for the div tag, and nothing helps. Any advice? Thanks again for your help.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I did a lot of work on this menu, but that "hamburger" menu for small screens wasn't part of it. There's a quick and dirty fix though, add this to the stylesheet:

    Code:
    div#smoothmenu2 {
        display: block !important;
    }
    Now, at a certain point, the smaller menu stacks itself, so more might need to be done to make it as fully usable on smaller screens as it could be, but try this out for now and see how you like it. At least one can still see it and use it.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Sorry, but this isn't working for me. The small menu still disappears at the break point. Maybe I just need to find a different solution.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Actually it looks like it's working here. Maybe all you need to do is refresh the page and/or clear the cache.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    You're right. It is working. Thanks again for your help with this.

Similar Threads

  1. Smooth Navigational Menu (v2.0)
    By 7moonlight in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 09-28-2013, 02:31 AM
  2. Smooth Navigational Menu (v2.1)
    By jscheuer1 in forum Submit a DHTML or CSS code
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-21-2013, 06:45 PM
  3. Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.5)
    By m.mari in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2011, 03:57 PM
  4. Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.02) help
    By lhunter322 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-08-2009, 08:35 AM
  5. Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.01)
    By Marc777 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-15-2008, 11:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •