Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 108

Thread: fruit machine reels picker list

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    chertsey, a small town 25 miles south west of london, england.
    Posts
    1,084
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 205 Times in 201 Posts

    Default

    Hi there theremotedr,

    Let's start with this...


    I also notice where ever you leave the selected item in the wheel say in this
    case "Read My Facebook" etc when you land on the page later on as opposed
    to it resetting to the first item in the list it's still on the last visited item.

    Well, that is normal behaviour.

    Can you show me an example of a page reloading after opening another page?

    I have amended, but not reinvented, the wheel.

    coothead
    Attached Files Attached Files
    ~ the original bald headed old fart ~

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Cider Region
    Posts
    955
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Hi,
    This new file version 4 has fixed the issues below,

    Just for ease & save my fingers we will say items for sale are 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8
    If say item 3 is in the selection line and i refreshed the page on the phone etc it should now show item 1 in the selection line BUT it was still on 3.
    "you have now fixed this" each refresh now starts the code again and item 1 is shown on the selection line.

    When you land on the page the first item for sale is now shown in the selection line.
    Before it did not.
    "you have now fixed this"

    When you cycle through the items for sale it should be like 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 each digit on the selection line.
    Before it would be 1,3,4,5,6,7,8
    "you have fixed this" each item for sale now takes its turn to line up on the selection line.

    What i mentioned in my post this after noon has now been fixed.

    Thanks very much.
    Now to proceed when you are ready.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    chertsey, a small town 25 miles south west of london, england.
    Posts
    1,084
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 205 Times in 201 Posts

    Default

    Hi there theremotedr,

    version 4, although appearing to work in your eyes it had a few problems
    that were caused by various settings in your "basic.css" file.

    This does not mean that there is anything wrong with the file, though.

    After, quite a bit of searching I tracked down the the offending code
    and consequently the new version is more robust and independent.

    Check it out, and let me know what you think needs to be adjusted.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by coothead; 01-11-2017 at 11:52 PM.
    ~ the original bald headed old fart ~

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Cider Region
    Posts
    955
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Hi,
    Thanks for this.

    Looks & works fine.

    How would a customer know that they needed to press ITEM SELECTION.... each time in order to scroll through the items for sale ?
    Would like to see the ITEM SELECTOR have a splash of #0099FF & maybe even the 3 field scroller a touch of colour to match / blend in with the page.


    If you were a customer what would you like or expect to see ?

    Thanks for this it makes the phone look much better and up to date.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    chertsey, a small town 25 miles south west of london, england.
    Posts
    1,084
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 205 Times in 201 Posts

    Default

    Hi there theremotedr,

    How would a customer know that they needed to press ITEM SELECTION
    I do not actually know how a mobile device works with regard
    to web page activity, other than it appears that there are,
    from what I have noticed, always fingers or thumbs involved
    in the operation of it's many mysteries.

    So, with that in mind, I have changed "ITEM SELECTOR" to
    "CLICK SELECTOR" to be on the safe side.

    Of course, "CLICK" may be totally meaningless to users.

    Anyway you can always change it to "THUMB SELECTOR"
    or perhaps "FINGER SELECTOR", if that is not too risqué.

    If you were a customer what would you like or expect to see ?
    Well, as a septuagenarian and a potential key fob purchaser
    I would want the navigation to the part that I required to be
    as uncomplicated and as direct as possible.

    If I was thirty or forty years younger then my views would
    probably be entirely different.

    You may not be aware that I just code this stuff for the
    mental stimulation that it provides rather than for any other
    practical purposes.

    Have a look at version 6 which has colour changes.

    coothead
    Attached Files Attached Files
    ~ the original bald headed old fart ~

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Cider Region
    Posts
    955
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Morning Coothead,and other members.

    Thats pretty nice what we have so far & thanks for setting this up.
    I think the below is now needed and we are done.

    I would like when the ITEM SELECTION button is pressed to hear a click sound,might be a daft request but i feel it gives the user a feel of rotation,if that makes sense.
    Im currently looking for a click sound file etc.

    I would think it has to be the same sound file but different formats like mp3 .wav .ogg .mp4 to support the users browser being used.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Cider Region
    Posts
    955
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    How about this,
    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html>
    <body>
    
    <audio controls>
      <source src="http://www.theremotedoctor.co.uk/sound-file/click.mp3" type="audio/mpeg">
    Your browser does not support the audio element.
    </audio>
    
    </body>
    </html>

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    chertsey, a small town 25 miles south west of london, england.
    Posts
    1,084
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 205 Times in 201 Posts

    Default

    Hi there theremotedr,

    see if this works.

    coothead
    Attached Files Attached Files
    ~ the original bald headed old fart ~

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Cider Region
    Posts
    955
    Thanks
    121
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Hi,

    File updated & works a treat,many thanks i think we are now done.
    Please can you update the version 6 + click file at your end,

    From this,
    Code:
    #special-items span {
        display: block;
        width: 100%;
        height: 3em;
        line-height: 3em;
        margin-bottom: 0.5em;
        border: 0.06em solid #000;
        border-radius: 0.75em;
        box-sizing: border-box;
        text-indent: 1em;
        font-weight: bold;
        color: #1e1e1e;
        background-color: #09f;
        box-shadow: 0.25em 0.25em 0.25em rgba(0,0,0,0.6);
        cursor: pointer;
    To This,
    Code:
    #special-items span {
        display: block;
        width: 100%;
        height: 3em;
        line-height: 3em;
        margin-bottom: 0.5em;
        border: 0.06em solid #000;
        border-radius: 0.75em;
        box-sizing: border-box;
        text-indent: 1em;
        font-weight: bold;
        color: #1e1e1e;
        background-color: #09f;
        box-shadow: 0.25em 0.25em 0.25em rgba(0,0,0,0.6);
        cursor: pointer;
        background-image: url('http://www.theremotedoctor.co.uk/m-images/dr-scroll-picker.png');
        background-repeat: no-repeat;
        background-position: 97% 3px;
    Also this,
    Code:
    <span id="butt">CLICK SELECTOR...</span>
    To this,
    Code:
    <span id="butt">CLICK FOR OPTIONS...</span>

    I understand now that i need to update all my pages.
    Do you need to move anything from this test file into separate css file etc etc.

    Please advise what steps i now need to make so my pages are then complete.

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    chertsey, a small town 25 miles south west of london, england.
    Posts
    1,084
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 205 Times in 201 Posts

    Default

    Hi there theremotedr,

    I will place all the necessary CSS and Javascript into external files for you.

    This will mean that you will only have to edit the HTML

    I have to go out now, so will return to it later this afternoon.

    coothead
    ~ the original bald headed old fart ~

Similar Threads

  1. How do I see SSI's on local machine?
    By wkenny in forum HTML
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-29-2011, 04:10 PM
  2. Vending Machine Simulator
    By Luron31 in forum Java
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-21-2011, 08:23 AM
  3. My new machine
    By BLiZZaRD in forum The lounge
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-30-2008, 08:13 PM
  4. *throws fruit cake at coding*
    By euphoriastudio in forum The lounge
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-10-2008, 09:03 PM
  5. Slot Machine Problem
    By IanMarlowe in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-06-2005, 03:05 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •