Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Responsive Side Toggle Menu

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Responsive Side Toggle Menu

    1) Script Title:
    Responsive Side Toggle Menu

    2) Script URL (on DD):
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...togglemenu.htm

    3) Describe problem:
    I am using the Side Toggle Menu and like it very much. I notice that when the page loads the menu flashes. Is there some way to stop the flashing. I have structured the site so that the javascripts load at the end as opposed to the beginning. I moved the <nav> section to the end after the javascript loads and this seems to help. Is there another way to solve the problem?

    p.s. I cannot use the .txt feature as all of the menus are dynamically created.

    jdadwilson

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,033
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 599 Times in 575 Posts
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default

    Flashes? You mean like a flicker or just a delay before it loads? I don't see a flash in the demo. Have you got a link to demonstrate the problem?
    Focus on Function Web Design
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Link as follows: http://www.txfannin.org/new-site/index.php

    When the page loads note on the left of the viewport you will see a flash of the menu. I suspect this is due to the menu loading at the top of the script and the javascript loading at the bottom.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,033
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 599 Times in 575 Posts
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default

    Not sure, but there might be a glitch in the CSS.

    Try removing the apostrophes around hidden;
    Code:
    .sidetogglemenu{ visibility: 'hidden'; }
    Focus on Function Web Design
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    That did the trick.

    Thanks again for all your help.
    jdadwilson

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    California
    Posts
    86
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Is it possible to have the 'side toggle menu' display visible on page load?

    jdadwilson

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,033
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 599 Times in 575 Posts
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default

    Try putting curstate: 'open', in the menu = new sidetogglemenu({...}) initialisation code. No end comma needed if its the last parameter.

    And also try modifying the JS file with the addition in red - This line;
    Code:
    $menu.css({visibility: 'visible'})
    Becomes this;
    Code:
    $menu.css({visibility: 'visible', left:0})
    Focus on Function Web Design
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    For me the menu shows for a split second then disappears. I fixed the CSS from 'hidden' and removed the quotes, but the menu still shows before hiding on page load. Other than that, it's an awesome script and easy to install.

    [edit] Okay, I fixed it from showing on load. Although, If I decide to use it for the right side of the page, I'll have to adjust my edit, but at least it doesn't even show (for that split second) page load.

    I fixed (added) this line in the JS script:
    $menu = $(menuref).css({top: 0, left:-290, visibility: 'hidden', zIndex: 1000}).prependTo(document.body)

    Above edit to the script "left:-290" matches my width in my CSS file

    [EDIT] Okay, I just made the "left:-290px" in my css file instead, sorry to bother anyone, issue resolved. I'm old, I'll catch up :-)
    Last edited by sjmdesigns; 12-16-2015 at 08:54 PM. Reason: I found a fix

Similar Threads

  1. Responsive Side Toggle Menu Enhancements
    By jdadwilson in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 11-15-2015, 08:55 AM
  2. Responsive Side Toggle Menu
    By Thin Lizzy in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11-07-2015, 01:41 PM
  3. DOM errors in Responsive Side Toggle Menu?
    By chas in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-04-2015, 04:08 AM
  4. Custom image for 'Toggle Menu' event in Side Push Menu
    By Neil1 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-28-2014, 04:08 PM
  5. Resolved Responsive Side Toggle Menu Reversed
    By adaml_ipa in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-25-2014, 07:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •