Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: IE and Opera problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default IE and Opera problem

    http://www.iankovi.com/newfolder/page.html
    http://www.iankovi.com/newfolder/css.css

    In firefox the input field, and the search button line up. In IE and Opera they don't, is there a CSS fix to this?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Try whitespace:nowrap.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    That unfortunately did not work. I have posted in another forum and I have been told that everything already lines up. Can you confirm this? I'm thinking it could just be my cache, though I have cleared and I see the same problem.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    No, it doesn't line up on Opera for me. Haven't tried it in IE.
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,076
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Lines up for me in Opera. If you want to be absolutely sure that things line up, use the much maligned table. That's what it is for imop. The problem with form elements in various browsers though is that some browsers allow the user to choose stylings. This can affect height and width, therefore alignment. Also, the different browsers see the baseline and often the height of standard form elements differently. Getting something to line up in every browser is not so important though. Just having things look OK is enough and there will probably always be that user agent, due to its configuration, that will make your design look like crap, as long as the content is legible, even that is not so bad.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    What is the maligned table?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,076
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ralitza
    What is the maligned table?
    Just a table. I used that adjective to describe it because, in many circles these days, tables are to be avoided like the plague. It is best to avoid their overuse, especially nesting (the decidedly poor practice of putting one or more tables inside of others) them but, to use one table here or there, without nesting, to line something up that otherwise is refusing to do so, is not a bad thing.

    Another use of tables to be avoided is creating large ones filled with many images, this will really slow the loading of a page. Combining that with nesting is the ultimate no, no.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I somewhat fixed it, but now there is a little space in Opera
    Updated:
    http://www.iankovi.com/page.html
    http://www.iankovi.com/css.css

    Any suggestions?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,076
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Still looks fine in my Opera8.52
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    英国
    Posts
    11,878
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 180 Times in 172 Posts
    Blog Entries
    2

    Default

    Oo-er...

    With Opera 8.51:
    Attachment 261
    Twey | I understand English | 日本語が分かります | mi jimpe fi le jbobau | mi esperanton komprenas | je comprends franšais | entiendo espa˝ol | t˘i Ýt hiểu tiếng Việt | ich verstehe ein bisschen Deutsch | beware XHTML | common coding mistakes | tutorials | various stuff | argh PHP!

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •