Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer - feed not uploading

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer - feed not uploading

    1) Script Title: gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer

    2) Script URL (on DD):

    3) Describe problem:
    I have strange problem with gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer. It has worked just fine until now, but suddenly it stopped uploading SOME feeds.
    The script is used in Alvar Aalto museum temporary page at http://www.alvaraalto.fi/index_en.htm
    There are two feeds under each other, which are brought from additional wp-site category from:
    http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news-top/feed/
    http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news-now/feed/

    The first one, news-top works just fine but the second one, news-now, doesn't upload the newest one.

    If I check out the wp page at http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news/news-now/ or http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news-now/ I can see the Visit the House of Culture in Helsinki! article on the page, and also, if I check out the actual feed page http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news-now/feed/ I can see the same article listed there. But for some reason it doesn't show up in feed.

    I thought that this might be a delay in server (?), but until now, they have been shown immediately - and this was posted already yesterday (Aug 5). I also tested the script on completely another server http://www.coloriasto.net/temp/testaa.htm (not showing all the other info on the page because I've used ajax includes); the page on another server is in Finnish, but there is a same problem with both languages: the same newest feed not showing!

    I also have tried updating the script for a newer one, but there was not any changes to this...

    If anyone could suggest a solution to this, I would be very glad!

    - päivi

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,902
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 967 Times in 955 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    How often the feeds are updated is dependent entirely on Google Feed API. Personally I've found usually there is a few hours delay before Google shows the latest feed updates. That said it seems you're not the only person experiencing an abnormally long delay with feed updating:

    https://groups.google.com/forum/#!to...PI/hypzmwburws
    DD Admin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ddadmin View Post
    How often the feeds are updated is dependent entirely on Google Feed API. Personally I've found usually there is a few hours delay before Google shows the latest feed updates. That said it seems you're not the only person experiencing an abnormally long delay with feed updating:

    https://groups.google.com/forum/#!to...PI/hypzmwburws
    Thanks for this. My coding skills are... well there aren't any. Is there any way I could try to adapt the nocache + getting the feed fresh each time (which are explained in that link) to this gAjax rss feed? It now seems clear that nothing new hasn't shown - it's already three days delay.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,902
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 967 Times in 955 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Checking out the problem page and RSS feeds, I'm a little bit confused. So this is the feed that you wish to show the latest RSS entries for:

    http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news-now/feed/

    Looking at it, the newest entry is that on May-16-14 5:25 AM right?

    The supposedly problem page not showing the latest entry is here right: http://www.alvaraalto.fi/index_en.htm If I look at that page, I do see that entry midway in the list of RSS entries shown. Am I misunderstanding the issue?
    DD Admin

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ddadmin View Post
    Checking out the problem page and RSS feeds, I'm a little bit confused. So this is the feed that you wish to show the latest RSS entries for:

    http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news-now/feed/

    Looking at it, the newest entry is that on May-16-14 5:25 AM right?

    The supposedly problem page not showing the latest entry is here right: http://www.alvaraalto.fi/index_en.htm If I look at that page, I do see that entry midway in the list of RSS entries shown. Am I misunderstanding the issue?
    Sorry, the "news updater" had changed the category of the post not showing to test if it works that way (which affects to the feed http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news-top/feed/ ), but it didn't work there either!

    In http://www.alvaraalto.fi/index_en.htm there are two feeds upon each other, first two entries news-top feed (http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news-top/feed/ ) and the nthree entries from news-now feed (http://aaltopress.wordpress.com/category/news-now/feed/), but the one news about the Cultural house dated Aug4, doesn't show at all (first it was in news-now, now they have changed it to news-top ).

    So, the newest entry is that on May-16-14 5:25 AM, but it should be the one dated in August.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,902
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 967 Times in 955 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    Interesting, it seems like somehow Google just isn't refreshing the RSS feed URLs on your site. One solution that seems to work is to duplicate your RSS feeds on another site/ service, then using that URL inside the gAjax script. I used Yahoo Pipes to create a duplicate of your "news-top" feed:

    http://pipes.yahoo.com/pipes/pipe.ru...3b&_render=rss

    If I use this URL inside the script, it successfully shows the latest entries.

    I would try and create a Yahoo Pipe of both of your feeds to circumvent the problem. Just go to Yahoo Pipes, then click on "Create New Pipe". Once the visual editor loads, on the left column, click on "Fetch Feed", input the URL of your RSS feed, then drag the circle at the bottom of the dialog box and connect it with the "Pipes Output" dialog. Save your Pipe, and then click "Run Pope" near the top of the editor. Finally, click on "Get as RSS" to get the resulting pipe as a RSS feed URL.

    If you need further clarification on using Yahoo Pipes, let me know.
    DD Admin

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ddadmin View Post
    I would try and create a Yahoo Pipe of both of your feeds to circumvent the problem.
    Thank you VERY MUCH for this! I will try this out. I already tested a bit and it seems to be a good solution. Yahoo Pipe is new to me it seems a very good tool in other ways too, so thanks very much for letting me know about this!

Similar Threads

  1. gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer - display more feed characters
    By cxcskiing in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-25-2014, 06:03 PM
  2. gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer not working with my feed url...
    By nando99 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-28-2012, 05:38 PM
  3. gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer - feed sometimes linked to wrong label
    By plimfec in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-15-2010, 06:22 AM
  4. gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer - Problem with protected feed
    By marcellow in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-08-2009, 12:54 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •