Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Loading content on occupied fadeshow page?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Loading content on occupied fadeshow page?

    Hi All,

    I'm a new forum member and just a s new to coding, so please be gentle. If I try and explain what I'm attempting to accomplish may answer my question.

    Currently, I have a simple photography website that is split by 2 frames. The main frame, making up 80% of the viewing page to maximise content opens on site access with a single image, with the supporting navigation at the foot of the page that calls selected pages into the main frame above. It's simple but I believe elegant and simply emphasizes the nature of the site - a photographic slideshow. The slideshows are provided by 'simpleviewer' it's functional but not what I want anymore and I feel.

    What I wish to accomplish now is instead of one static image on loading the initial url I wished to use the fadeshow.js. I've managed to do this and add a series of images that fade and resize nicely giving the necessary animation on first load and also simplified access with varying devices. However, I still wish to realize my intention of retaining the navigation in the frame below. My challenge is this, when I select the 'target' for the pages to appear in the main frame above that isn't happening and the links simply open in a new window. My question is, IS THIS BECAUSE I CANNOT HAVE OTHER PAGES LOAD WHERE I HAVE FADESHOWS? I do add that the index page is made up of this main frame and the navigation frame and perhaps this is the reason.

    I've tried to describe what I want to achieve and that's currently what I have, I just need to bring it up to date with dynamic resizing and interchanging images on load and also replacing my 'simpleviewer' portfolio galleries with say, several fadeshows. If you 'get' what I have currently and what I wish to retain and change you may be better to assist me.

    As I say, I am very green with all this, so, please go easy.

    Any help will be really appreciated, thank you.

    Current website www.philhandforth.com
    Last edited by Beverleyh; 04-20-2014 at 06:34 AM. Reason: Formatting

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,933
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 303 Times in 302 Posts
    Blog Entries
    9

    Default

    I've managed to do this and add a series of images that fade and resize nicely giving the necessary animation on first load and also simplified access with varying devices.
    Hmmm, I'm on iPhone at the mo but I don't see a slideshow. Have you provided the correct link - a link to the page with the slideshow or just your static home page? If you'd like help with a specific script, you should provide a link to the page that contains the script.

    As for opening links in a frame, have you tried naming the frame and then using that name in the target attribute of the link? http://webdesign.about.com/cs/frames...aadvframes.htm
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,925
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,190 Times in 3,154 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    IS THIS BECAUSE I CANNOT HAVE OTHER PAGES LOAD WHERE I HAVE FADESHOWS?
    With a frame setup, no. You probably just aren't targeting the frame properly.

    If you want more help, please include a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

Similar Threads

  1. Page Loading Script for large content
    By dmwhipp in forum Looking for such a script or service
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-15-2011, 05:12 AM
  2. Trouble loading external page in div with dynamic content
    By jstone5150 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-15-2009, 07:09 PM
  3. Dynamic Ajax Content - loading content in parent page DIV - How???
    By artguy101 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2008, 02:06 AM
  4. fadeshow: printing html page shows dark pictures
    By randym56 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 05-12-2008, 03:28 PM
  5. 'page loading' addition to Dynamic Ajax Content
    By humblenick in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 03-22-2008, 01:32 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •