Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0-

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0-

    Hello All,

    First timer here, not too sure if I'm in the right forum!

    I'm trying to code the Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0- but I think I have problems with the paths of the images. Do the paths http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/pool.jpg" use dd.com's images for testing? I also have a temp folder into which I'm saving everything and I have the .js file in there is this also correct for now?

    Thank you,

    Best wishes
    Graeme

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    You cannot hotlink to the images on the Dynamic Drive server. Well you can, but they will not show up most of the time.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1 View Post
    You cannot hotlink to the images on the Dynamic Drive server. Well you can, but they will not show up most of the time.
    thank you, shall i just use some images locally on my pc for testing? also, can i ask i'm using this to replace a flash banner with dimensions of 921x 200, do the images i use need to be this size also,
    many thanks,
    graeme

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Yes and yes.

    A little more info:

    When testing locally, you can use local images. Once the page is live, you probably need to upload your images to your server even for testing, and definitely need to upload them for others to be able to see them.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello again,

    How can I increase the pause time for each image please?

    Thank you

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    There are two places in the configuration where that's involved:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
    	wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
    	dimensions: [250, 180], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
    	imagearray: [
    		["http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/pool.jpg", "", "", "Nothing beats relaxing next to the pool when the weather is hot."],
    		["http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/cave.jpg", "http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cave", "_new", "Some day I'd like to explore these caves!"],
    		["http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/fruits.jpg"],
    		["http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/dog.jpg", "", "", "What a beautiful scene with everything changing colors."] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
    	],
    	displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2000, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
    	persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
    	fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds)
    	descreveal: "ondemand",
    	togglerid: ""
    })
    
    </script>
    as highlighted in a sample configuration (above). The displaymode pause is how long each image is seen for. That's the main one and is really the answer to your question. The transition duration (fadeduration) is how long it takes for an image to fade in. The fadeduration should always be less than the pause. Otherwise it will never allow any of the images to fully fade in before they start to change to the next one.

    Both of these are set in milliseconds. 1000 equals one second.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    thank you john, amazing help, all the best to you,
    graeme

Similar Threads

  1. Ultimate Fade-in Slideshow -- Fade Duration and Pause
    By ellenjones6 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 02-21-2014, 05:18 PM
  2. Remove initial fade in from Ultimate Fade-in slideshow
    By optimus203 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-14-2012, 06:37 PM
  3. Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v2.4) - fade description text
    By kwakker35 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-06-2012, 04:13 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-12-2010, 04:04 PM
  5. Ultimate fade-in slideshow - fade-in time change
    By TheJoe in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-06-2009, 04:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •