Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Creating a link to a particular page of a pdf

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,994
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,198 Times in 3,160 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Hmm, I thought you had already mentioned that you had documents that spanned more than one PDF file. I guess I misunderstood.

    Now I would like to expand upon the other thing:

    If it works in most cases with the obvious fall back/failure being that the file opens to its first or some other unexpected page leaving the user to search the PDF for the desired content, why test in so many browsers?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa
    Posts
    1,718
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 90 Times in 88 Posts

    Default

    Just the major browsers, maybe 4 - 6 altogether. Sometimes I had error messages saying that the parameter I used was not recognized even though it was only one or two browsers that couldn't figure out what I was doing and it scrolled to some odd location in the pdf that had nothing to do with the parameter I set. djr33 recommends it and why not

    Either way this is just for a matter of convenience for the user. If I consistently have no problems with my first few citations after testing it in multiple browsers then I will use the parameter and not worry about it. I will continue to list the page number next to the pdf documents that I cite.
    To choose the lesser of two evils is still to choose evil. My personal site

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    The real issue here will be plugins, not browsers. I imagine that IE/FF/Opera on Windows will behave very similarly (if not identically) if they're all using the Adobe Acrobat plugin. And possibly also on a Mac (and Linux?) if users do use such a plugin. But for users who have a different plugin or no plugin at all, it will likely behave very differently. And remember some devices (like iPhones) use native PDF readers that may have unique functionality.

    So in short, testing this by installing multiple browsers on your machine won't work well. If it works in one browser, it'll probably work in the others. You'd actually need to test this with multiple machines (or at least different plugin combinations).

    However, if you get it to work with the Adobe Acrobat plugin, then it might work with all of the other ones that would work at all-- they might copy the same functionality. I doubt the other plugins offer any specialized page-linking options (though I have no idea). So really you'll just end up with those that work because they're like Acrobat and those that don't. Fairly simple.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,994
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,198 Times in 3,160 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Chrome has a native reader and it works with that. I think most third party readers will try to emulate such a simple convention as page numbers.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    I think most third party readers will try to emulate such a simple convention as page numbers.
    That's assuming they're intended to be roughly equivalent. I don't know if that's a reliable assumption. The most basic behavior (such as whether a PDF downloads, opens in a new window, or opens in the same window) can vary, so I don't think page numbers would be reliable, no. If they do offer that option, then they probably do use the same format, but I wouldn't be surprised at all if they don't.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,994
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,198 Times in 3,160 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I think most will. The decision to view in the browser, the reader, or to download is made by how the browser and OS are configured and is a separate issue.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

Similar Threads

  1. Resolved Image Thumbnail Viewer II - creating an extra link
    By europe451 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-29-2010, 02:30 PM
  2. Creating different windows in a page
    By Sikky in forum CSS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-17-2008, 07:16 PM
  3. Help creating a current link
    By SayJumner in forum CSS
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 12-08-2007, 01:10 PM
  4. Creating Dynamic PHP Link in.js file
    By eday_2010 in forum PHP
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-23-2007, 05:01 PM
  5. Creating a login page
    By ColoradoEquestrian in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-07-2006, 01:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •