Advanced Search

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Select box and IE6 bug

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Select box and IE6 bug

    I know that IE6 is almost gone from the scene, but I just read somewhere that close to 2% of people world-wide are still using it.

    This is how our search looks in most browsers:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1.jpg 
Views:	180 
Size:	9.7 KB 
ID:	5271

    But then when it comes to IE6 the select box looks like this:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2.jpg 
Views:	152 
Size:	9.8 KB 
ID:	5272

    I added a line-height and it does have a regular height of 30px, still it stays this way in IE6.

    Any ideas how to work around the bug?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    chertsey, a small town 25 miles south west of london, england.
    Posts
    672
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 110 Times in 108 Posts

    Default

    Hi there qwikad.com,

    you really should ask yourself this question...

    What will IE6 users expect the "select element" to look like?

    The main concern for that dinosaur should be that it functions
    reasonably well, rather than it's aesthetics.

    I am unable to test in IE6, but would suggest that increasing
    the "font-size" may well prove to be the solution.

    coothead

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,297
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 135 Times in 130 Posts
    Blog Entries
    28

    Default

    I wrote something about styling select boxes a long time ago, see this. You should read IE there as IE6/7.
    But, as coothead mentions, why should you bother about IE6?
    Last edited by molendijk; 11-08-2013 at 09:09 AM. Reason: Correcting spelling

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Thank you for your responses. I didn't realize that ie6/7 are so hard on css. It looks like it's not worth the pain to go through for just one browser (barely used). Thanks anyway.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2013, 07:10 PM
  2. Select from two tables if data exists, else just select from one
    By megs1328 in forum MySQL and other databases
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-16-2009, 03:32 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-09-2007, 09:26 PM
  4. Select in Where
    By phb5000 in forum MySQL and other databases
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-17-2007, 01:05 PM
  5. "select * " vs "select col1, col2 "
    By james438 in forum MySQL and other databases
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-03-2007, 08:40 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •