Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Need help in my game code

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Need help in my game code

    So the problem is i want it to show the string whats inside the variable.

    Here is the code:

    Code:
    function explore()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><h1>Where do you want to explore?<\/h1><button onClick='newWorld()'>Back<\/button><br><button onClick='exploreNorth()'>North<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    
    <!--Below are the explore() functions
    function exploreNorth()
    {
    var found=Branch
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><h4>You walk towards north and find (found)<\/h4><br><button onClick='explore()'>Back<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    I really don't know whats the problem. :P

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 216 Times in 209 Posts
    Blog Entries
    53

    Default

    Function exploreNorth refers to Branch, which is not specified / does nothing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    umm What?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 216 Times in 209 Posts
    Blog Entries
    53

    Default

    function exploreNorth()
    {
    var found=Branch
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><h4>You walk towards north and find (found)<\/h4><br><button onClick='explore()'>Back<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    What does Branch do?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Nothing i guess btu dont you see i have set the word Branch to found

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 216 Times in 209 Posts
    Blog Entries
    53

    Default

    As I said, function exploreNorth refers to Branch, which is not specified / does nothing. So the variable found doesn't do anything either.
    You have to give us the code for the WHOLE document to allow us to see what's happening.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    OKay here you have it then:

    Code:
    <!doctype html>
    <html>
    <head>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
    <title>&nbsp;</title>
    
    <script>
    function credit()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML+="<pre><h3>These people helped me alot:<\/h3><br><br><a href='http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/'>Dynamic Drive<\/a><\/pre>"
    }
    function craft()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><p>What do you want to craft?<\/p><button onClick='newWorld()'>Back<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    function explore()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><h1>Where do you want to explore?<\/h1><button onClick='newWorld()'>Back<\/button><br><button onClick='exploreNorth()'>North<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    
    <!--Below are the explore() functions
    function exploreNorth()
    {
    var found=Branch
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><h4>You walk towards north and find (found)<\/h4><br><button onClick='explore()'>Back<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    function myInventory1()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre>You came from first inventory item <button onClick='newWorld()'>Back<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    
    function myInventory2()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre>You came from second inventory item <button onClick='newWorld()'>Back<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    
    function myInventory3()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre>You came from third inventory item <button onClick='newWorld()'>Back<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    
    function showInventory()
    {
    document.getElementById('inventory').style.display='block';
    document.getElementById('hide_list').style.display='inline'
    }
    
    function hideInventory()
    {
    document.getElementById('inventory').style.display='none';
    document.getElementById('hide_list').style.display='none'
    }
    
    
    function newWorld()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><h1>Hello and welcome to World of My Core!<\/h1>What would you like to do?<br><button style='width:145px' onClick='window.location.reload()'>Exit<\/button><br><button onClick='showInventory()' style='display: inline; width: 145px'>Show Inventory Items<\/button>&nbsp;<button id='hide_list' style='display: none' onclick='hideInventory()'>Hide Inventory<\/button><ul id='inventory' style='margin-top: 10px; margin-bottom: 0px; display: none'><li onclick='myInventory1()'>first item<\/li><li onclick='myInventory2()'>second item<\/li><li onclick='myInventory3()'>third item<\/li><\/ul><br><button onClick='craft()' style='width:145px'>Craft<\/button><br><button onClick='explore()' style='width:145px'>Explore<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    function charCreate()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><h3>Start by choosing your name!<\/h3><br><br><input type='text' name='name'><br><br><input type='radio' name='gender' value='Male'>Male<br><input type='radio' name='gender' value='Female'>Female<br><br><button onClick='newWorld()'>New World<\/button><pre>"
    }
    </script>
    
    <style>
    pre{font-family: verdana; font-size: 12px}
    button {font-family: arial; font-size: 13px}
    button,li{cursor: pointer}
    </style>
    </head>
    
    <body>
    
    <h1 style="color:brown">Welcome to My Core</h1>
    
    <button onClick="charCreate()">Play</button><br>
    <button onClick="credit()">Credits</button>
    
    </body>
    </html>
    </body>
    </html>

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 216 Times in 209 Posts
    Blog Entries
    53

    Default

    var found=Branch is preventing the script from working, because Branch is not specified.
    If you replace
    function exploreNorth()
    {
    var found=Branch
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><h4>You walk towards north and find (found)<\/h4><br><button onClick='explore()'>Back<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    with:
    function exploreNorth()
    {
    document.body.innerHTML="<pre><h4>You walk towards north and find (found)<\/h4><br><button onClick='explore()'>Back<\/button><\/pre>"
    }
    it will work.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    52
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I know but i want to have a variable on that function

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,734
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 216 Times in 209 Posts
    Blog Entries
    53

Similar Threads

  1. looking for php game
    By vautz in forum Looking for such a script or service
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-16-2012, 05:16 AM
  2. My first game!
    By evan in forum Flash
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-22-2009, 02:57 PM
  3. looking for script for game
    By babu357 in forum Looking for such a script or service
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-22-2007, 03:52 AM
  4. Help with game!!!
    By shachi in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 06-09-2006, 07:24 PM
  5. Game
    By Justin Ramsey in forum Other
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-07-2006, 11:47 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •