Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Smooth Navigational Menu (v2.0)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation Smooth Navigational Menu (v2.0)

    1) Script Title: Smooth Navigational Menu (v2.0)

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...smoothmenu.htm

    3) Describe problem:
    I will admit now that I am not a programmer.
    I downloaded all the files and thought I had followed the directions but I cannot get the menu to drop down for the submenus.
    I have it here: http://religiousright101.tripod.com/...se/index1.html to test it.

    I have tried so many different things trying to fix this, including copying some of the files into the head section directly. This is exactly the drop down menu I need - If I could just get it to work.
    Any help is appreciated. If I need to pay to get it working, then let me know.

    Thank you!!:
    A.H.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,876
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 962 Times in 951 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    There may be other issues, but the reference to ddsmoothmenu.js in the HEAD section of your page is currently broken. Be sure it's uploaded to the root HTML directory of your site:

    http://religiousright101.tripod.com/...dsmoothmenu.js
    DD Admin

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,920
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,187 Times in 3,151 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Also - The page is missing the required init, which for it could be:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    ddsmoothmenu.init({
    	mainmenuid: "smoothmenu1", //menu DIV id
    	orientation: 'h', //Horizontal or vertical menu: Set to "h" or "v"
    	classname: 'ddsmoothmenu', //class added to menu's outer DIV
    	contentsource: "markup" //"markup" or ["container_id", "path_to_menu_file"]
    })
    
    </script>
    This should go right after:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8/jquery.min.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="ddsmoothmenu.js">
    
    /***********************************************
    * Smooth Navigational Menu- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
    * This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
    * Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
    ***********************************************/
    
    </script>
    All of which, though not critical, should go after the styles.

    There could also be other problems.

    The browser cache may need to be cleared and/or the page refreshed to see changes.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you both for your help.

    I scrubbed all my fiddling with it and deleted the scripts - then downloaded the scripts from DD anew.
    The drop down is working now!!! That is huge. You guys ROCK. I will definitely recommend you and use your scripts again.
    You have won me over with your friendly assistance!

    Ariel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi

    Thanks for this great script. 2 questions:

    1. How to fix a top offset on .ddsmoothmenu ul li ul
    It seems adding top:20px has no effect. The idea is to make something like on the attached screenshot Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture d’écran 2013-05-14 à 15.48.51.jpg 
Views:	146 
Size:	9.7 KB 
ID:	5058

    2. how to add dynamically a class to .ddsmoothmenu ul li ul when the submenu reposition themselves if too close to the window's right edges.

    Regards

    Greg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,920
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,187 Times in 3,151 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I'd try padding-top. The script sets the top coord on the fly so as to position it under its trigger regardless of how the page might have been resized, which of course might have moved the trigger.

    The padding might also be set by the script and/or in the stylesheet. If so, you may have to use the !important keyword to override that.

    Padding is a good choice too because you could use that little arrow thingy as a background image. Background shows in padding. And padding is a part of the element, so hover events (if used) and clicks still should be recorded faithfully for each element.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 05-14-2013 at 02:21 PM.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for reply. That work fine8 What about second question. The little arrow as a background image should be replaced if the submenu is repositoned. In this case adding dynamically a class to .ddsmoothmenu ul li ul would be nice

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,920
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,187 Times in 3,151 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    I missed that. Try this (lightly tested) modified version of the script (right click and 'Save As'):

    ddsmoothmenu.js

    It adds the class 'repositioned' to menus that have been repositioned and removes it from those that have not. Should work.

    The browser cache may need to be cleared and/or the page refreshed to see changes.

    If you want more help, please include a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    It works like a charm Thanks a lot

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I spoke too soon.
    It works in Firefox, but not in IE.
    http://religiousright101.tripod.com/...se/index1.html

    Help please. I don't understand why it won't work in IE.
    Ariel

Similar Threads

  1. Smooth Navigational Menu (v2.0)
    By SKodidine in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-08-2013, 09:17 PM
  2. Help: Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.5)
    By Li-Ann in forum Looking for such a script or service
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-30-2012, 01:32 PM
  3. Smooth Navigational Menu
    By BabaJoe in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-29-2012, 09:42 AM
  4. Smooth Navigational Menu (v1.4)
    By Ronnyjaymes in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-18-2010, 09:17 PM
  5. Smooth Navigational Menu
    By KantelData in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2010, 07:39 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •