Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: vertical_css3_shadow_menu not work in IE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default vertical_css3_shadow_menu not work in IE

    Hi there~

    I love this menu, but am having issues with it working in IE (v 8)... Yes, I know, its a horrible browser, but I have to design my site for multiple browsers... Any idea on how I can make this work?

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/cs...3_shadow_menu/

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 313 Times in 311 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Unfortunately IE 8 doesn't support a lot of CSS3 properties/effects/selectors such as box shadow, transitions/animations and opacities which the menu script uses: http://fmbip.com/litmus/

    This particular menu doesn't lose functionality without the CSS3 stuff though, which is a good thing - you can still use it - it just doesn't look quite so nice in IE8.

    If you really wanted to get things looking spiffy in IE8, you'd need to use a JavaScript fallback such as Modernizr: http://modernizr.com/
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Can I still use a hover background (instead of the shadow box) or are you saying this menu, will not work with backgrounds, in IE period? I hate starting over...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Disregard, I tried a different background and it worked... Thanks for responding! It would be helpful if the menu had a list of browsers that it worked well in...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 313 Times in 311 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jodidesign2 View Post
    ... are you saying this menu, will not work with backgrounds, in IE period?
    Not at all. Please refer to this article for information about background properties that are supported in IE8: http://www.standardista.com/css3/css...nd-properties/
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

Similar Threads

  1. Ultimate Fade-in Slideshow - wont work on-line but will work off-line
    By southerncrow in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-21-2010, 01:27 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-12-2010, 12:57 PM
  3. Test images work - My images don't work?
    By tenmeg in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 02:43 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-04-2009, 09:06 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-20-2009, 12:14 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •