Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: PuTTY issues

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    N 11 19' 0.0012 E 142 15' 0
    Posts
    1,524
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 89 Times in 88 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default PuTTY issues

    Good day all!
    First off, sorry for being so absent recently; I've been a tad busy trying to sort everything out.

    Now to the question:
    I'm using a bit of software called PuTTY, a free ssh (and telnet + more) client that you use to connect to a server. I have access to a server (dedicated), but when I try and connect I'm not getting a response. I have a sneaking suspicion I need to open port 22 (ssh port normally) or set it to ssh or somethin'...

    Any suggestions on what to try?
    Last edited by keyboard; 05-25-2013 at 10:48 AM.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to keyboard For This Useful Post:

    bernie1227 (04-15-2013)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    charset utf-8
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keyboard1333 View Post
    I have a sneaking suspicion I need to open port 22
    I would try that out and see if it works. I own two game servers and port forwarding is the part I never did like

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,982
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 311 Times in 309 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    Hi Keebs - how r tricks?

    I have only ever used PuTTY ONCE in one of those "I'm bored and I want to fiddle with something new that I read about on my web host's blog" moments.

    I vaguely remember getting to the command prompts and thinking that maybe it wasnt such a good idea LOL

    Anyway, I guess that means that I connected OK, even though I didn't do a great deal once I got that far.

    I just tested again using these instructions and they got me in fine: http://www.ehow.co.uk/how_7346104_us...ion-putty.html

    Also, my web host uses port 2222 to connect.
    Last edited by Beverleyh; 04-06-2013 at 01:31 PM. Reason: tested a login - confirming connection using linked guide
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    N 11 19' 0.0012 E 142 15' 0
    Posts
    1,524
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 89 Times in 88 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Ok, tried that out but still no luck, so I need to open port 22 for SSH.
    Anyone know how to A, open it, and B, use it for SSH?

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to keyboard For This Useful Post:

    bernie1227 (04-15-2013)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,982
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 311 Times in 309 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    It might be an idea to check with your web host that you definitely connect on port 22 in case they use something different like mine does.

    I also had to create a seperate SSH login via my web host control panel - I wasn't allowed to use any previously registered passwords. Maybe you need to authenticate another login with your web host too?
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    N 11 19' 0.0012 E 142 15' 0
    Posts
    1,524
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 89 Times in 88 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    As I said, it's kind of a dedicated server so I'd need to set up the ssh port myself.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to keyboard For This Useful Post:

    bernie1227 (04-15-2013)

  10. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,982
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 311 Times in 309 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    Well, that's stumped me - that's one area where I like to have somebody else handling things (semi-dedicated is as adventurous as it gets for me) and at work, all things servery are managed by dedicated server folk. *sorry*
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  11. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    N 11 19' 0.0012 E 142 15' 0
    Posts
    1,524
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 89 Times in 88 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Dayum
    Not really sure where to go from there
    Oh Google, why won't you give me an answer

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to keyboard For This Useful Post:

    bernie1227 (04-15-2013)

  13. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,982
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 311 Times in 309 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    I don't really have a way to test anything out but maybe you can glean something from this? http://kb.siteground.com/how_to_enab...rver_on_linux/

    Or this? http://kb.webhosting.uk.com/how-to-e...icated-server/
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  14. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    N 11 19' 0.0012 E 142 15' 0
    Posts
    1,524
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 89 Times in 88 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Just incase anyone is actually curious, I've found an un-tested solution to this.
    Install Cygwin and use the Linux SSH setup from in there.

Similar Threads

  1. IE6 Issues
    By skydog in forum CSS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-21-2008, 08:41 PM
  2. IE Issues
    By TimFA in forum CSS
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-19-2007, 12:15 PM
  3. Tab issues!
    By PhoenixX in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-30-2007, 09:20 AM
  4. Two New Issues
    By ikon in forum HTML
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-12-2005, 05:21 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •