Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: Javascript (fadeslideshow) is blocked on IE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Javascript (fadeslideshow) is blocked on IE

    Hi guys!
    I'm creating my first homepage and want to have such a good locking fadeslide show in my homepage.
    so i found this dynamic drive fadeslideshow an put it into my poorly writen homepage. everything works fine,
    ....on firefox. on internet explorer the javascript is blocked. ->there is a window telling me something like
    "the scripts and active-x elements are restricted for this page"
    then i can simply activate the javascript and everything works, but i don't want that all my visitors first have
    to unblock the javascript.

    Is there anyway i can tell IE: "Hi IE, everything is ok, you don't have to block my slideshow by default!"???

    The homepagecode goes like:
    ---------------------------------


    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
    <html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">

    <head>

    <title>my homepage</title>

    <link rel="stylesheet" href="style.css" type="text/css" />

    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>

    <script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js">

    /***********************************************
    * Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
    * This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
    * Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
    ***********************************************/
    </script>

    <script type="text/javascript">

    var mygallery1=new fadeSlideShow({
    wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
    dimensions: [767, 301], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
    imagearray: [
    ["pic/schleife1.jpg"],
    ["pic/schleife3.jpg"],
    ["pic/schleife4.jpg"],
    ["pic/schleife5.jpg"],
    ["pic/schleife2.jpg"] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
    ],
    displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:5000, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
    persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
    fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds)
    togglerid: ""
    })

    </script>

    </head>

    <body>

    <div id="fadeshow1" style="position: absolute; top:103px; left:266px; z-index:3"></div>

    </body>
    </html>

    --------------------------------------------------------------

    i know that there has to be a solution because i have seen pages with javascripts that work fine on my IE.

    PLEASE HELP ME!

    (please write as simple as possible because i'm not used html and i'm not a nativespeaker.)

    Thanks you!

    regards, Wettergott

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 305 Times in 304 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    That's fine - you're viewing the web page while its on your computer so IE will present you with that little security notice.

    Once you upload everything to your web host, and view the web page over the Internet, everything will be fine - no error notice.
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    lol it's that easy???
    ok, so i chance nothing and everything will work. html seems to be really easy :-)
    thank you very much.

    another question: is this forum also for general html questions, or only for javascript based threads?

    -wettergott

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 305 Times in 304 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    HTML, CSS, PHP, MySQL, Graphics, Hardware... the works!!

    Just choose the most suitable forum heading from the list and post your question in there: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/forum.php
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    hi, i have another question depending on IE....
    i created an icon placed on the left side of the tab. the code is

    "<link rel="shortcut icon" type="image/ico" href="pic/haus2.ico" />"

    written into the head of the homepage. again firefox is showing it right, while IE just shows it's own
    logo. is this problem again because i have the homepage on my pc and not on an extern server?

    -wettergott

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,986
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,198 Times in 3,160 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    It could be. It could also be due to the fact that IE doesn't implement the favicon the same as other browsers. Because it can cache the favicon or lack thereof, sometimes it can take awhile for changes to take effect.

    And/or it might be the syntax of the favicon link. The best way is to have one favicon for an entire site and simply place it in the root folder of the domain. Don't use any favicon link tags. All browsers will just automatically pick up on the favicon then. Still, with IE it might take a little time.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 305 Times in 304 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    That's partly IE again
    it has some interesting little behaviours that can sometimes be really frustrating.

    Some browsers (IE) do not show a favicon immediately (not in the same session anyway) and the cache may need to be cleared to pull it through.

    But I *believe* the correct link for a favicon is;
    Code:
    <link rel="shortcut icon" href="http://www.mywebsite.com/favicon.ico" type="image/x-icon" />
    With a full absolute path to the favicon. This is what works for me but of course it will only work properly once its on your web host.
    Last edited by Beverleyh; 03-27-2013 at 09:40 PM. Reason: Missed a " in the syntax
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 305 Times in 304 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    Hi John - you beat me to it (damn iPhone!)

    I've never tried just putting the favicon in the root folder but not linking to it. Is that effective in all (major) browsers? I'm intrigued now so I will have to play with it.
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1 View Post
    The best way is to have one favicon for an entire site and simply place it in the root folder of the domain.
    what's a root folder? i don't even have a domain. i wanted to write the page first and then put it online. so how do i place it in the root folder of the domain then?
    (please tell me like you would tell a child :-) ...as i said...these are my first html steps. )

    -wettergott

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,963
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 305 Times in 304 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    The root folder/directory of a website is the main folder - the one where you'd put the home (index) page.
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

Similar Threads

  1. Popup blocked link???
    By leonid.ge in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-14-2010, 09:14 AM
  2. HV Menu ActiveX Blocked
    By AussieFalcon in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2006, 06:57 AM
  3. Allow blocked content error
    By iversog in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2006, 08:53 AM
  4. Detecting if DHTML is blocked
    By uglyfatjoe in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-31-2005, 09:49 PM
  5. Email riddler blocked by IE info bar
    By robertsaunders in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-29-2005, 07:15 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •