Advanced Search

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Javascript code for text & image scroller works in Firefox but not IE

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Javascript code for text & image scroller works in Firefox but not IE

    This is where I got the code on this Dynamic Drive DHTML Scripts website: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...wler/index.htm. I tried everything I could to fix the code for the tables that I used in the scroller, to no avail. Will be glad to supply a link for a `dummy webpage`I`m using if someone would be glad to assist me. (I`m volunteering work on the website for our parish.) Thanks in advance, tmorelli

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Text and Image Crawler v1.53 problems in IE but not Firefox

    1) Script Title: Text and Image Crawler v1.53

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...wler/index.htm

    3) Describe problem: I have created a dummy webpage on the http://www.blessedtrinity.ca/ website (where I volunteer my time as I am not working) that I can refer someone to should they be able to assist me. The navigational bar works in Firefox (using the above scroll script), but not IE. Thanks in advance, tmorelli

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Addendum -- This is the dummy page I created: http://www.blessedtrinity.ca/mockup.htm with the code for the Text and Image Crawler v1.53 in it. Thanks again for any and all help - tmorelli

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default (just adding something to my profile here so I will receive a response via email.)

    (just adding something to my profile here so I will receive a response via email.) - tmorelli

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    One more quick addendum (sorry, I'm new and learning here)...if it helps, the horizontal menu I'm using on the website was from here: http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/...stopmenu.shtml. Thanks again - tmorelli

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Portsmouth, UK
    Posts
    1,709
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 389 Times in 384 Posts

    Default

    It works for me with IE

    but errors on the page are reported

    a quick look at the source and you have a number of DOC types declared

    suggest you use http://validator.w3.org/#validate_by_input
    Vic
    God Loves You and will never love you less.
    http://www.vicsjavascripts.org/Home.htm
    If my post has been useful please donate to http://www.operationsmile.org.uk/

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello Vic,

    Thanks so much for your forum reply.

    Just to be sure, did you check the IE view for this web address? ---> http://www.blessedtrinity.ca/mockup.htm

    This is the dummy web address I created for the www.blessedtrinity.ca website (as a way of testing the code before I put it on the home page for the Blessed Trinity website.

    Also, I must confess that, outside of basic HTML, I'm not at all familiar with other forms of code when building websites. The http://validator.w3.org/#validate_by_input link you supplied is a bit difficult to figure out for someone who is such a novice at this more "advanced coding" thing. As a result of my lack of any real formal coding training (I'm pretty much learning everything on the fly), I find myself having to rely on sites such as DD to "fill in the blanks".

    The navigational menu bar shows (in the http://www.blessedtrinity.ca/mockup.htm web address) in Firefox, but not in IE. I'm trying to ensure that the navigational menu bar can be seen in both.

    Thanks in advance again for your coding assistance - tmorelli
    Last edited by tmorelli; 03-16-2013 at 09:39 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello again Vic,

    I hadn't seen a reply from you in about ten days, hence my reply below....

    The navigational menu bar shows (in the http://www.blessedtrinity.ca/mockup.htm web address) in Firefox, but not in IE. I'm trying to ensure that the navigational menu bar can be seen in both.

    Thanks in advance again for your coding assistance - tmorelli

Similar Threads

  1. Resolved Javascript conflict, but works fine in firefox 3.6
    By djvk87 in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 03-30-2011, 08:49 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-06-2010, 05:17 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-24-2010, 01:07 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-24-2009, 05:16 AM
  5. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-13-2009, 06:51 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •