Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: IP conflict on router-- two computers fighting over the same IP

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default IP conflict on router-- two computers fighting over the same IP

    Recently, the wifi connection on my computer has from time to time become very slow when I'm at home. Sometimes when this happens I receive a warning "your IP address [....] is being used by another device."

    I'm using a macbook, with a linksys router, and several other devices are connected to the internet here from time to time-- an iPhone, an HTC phone, and a Windows laptop.

    I'm not sure how to troubleshoot this because I can't find an option to pick another IP, but it seems stupid that something wouldn't shift if two devices are fighting over an IP... it's not like the IP matters, as long as it's unique.

    Any ideas?
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,969
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 307 Times in 305 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Beverleyh For This Useful Post:

    djr33 (02-25-2013)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the link. OSX is a little different with the newer versions, but at least now I have an idea about where to look and what settings to try.
    One thing I don't really understand is how I could control which IPs are reserved... is this only for an Apple Airport router, or is it something that other routers will also respect?
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,969
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 307 Times in 305 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    When I had a snoop around similar mac help forums there were other routers mentioned so I think it might work for others too, give or take some phraseology/setting names. I'm not big on hardware configuration but the guys in the office assign static IPs for all of our stuff so that's the line of thought that looks most workable to me.

    There's also this thread on the Apple forum that is from the middle of last year so hopefully the fix is still relevant - 4 down by SocialGen: https://discussions.apple.com/thread...t=105&tstart=0
    Looks similar to the other fix but there's some turning things off and on again involved too.
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,162
    Thanks
    263
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Thanks. I'll play with this then. It's hard to know if it's fixed or not because it doesn't happen too often (about once a day), but I'll know in a while if it's working better. If not, I'll continue to change things and see if that helps.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| español | Deutsch | italiano | português | català | un peu de français | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

Similar Threads

  1. Dlink 300 router - Connect 2 Pc's
    By gordonisnz in forum Computer hardware and software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-17-2009, 10:25 AM
  2. List menus fighting with my embedded files
    By mensuo in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2009, 09:08 AM
  3. USB Modem to Router DLink DIR-300
    By sysout in forum Computer hardware and software
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-15-2009, 02:10 PM
  4. Linksys Router Issue
    By Trinithis in forum Computer hardware and software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-09-2007, 10:27 PM
  5. wireless router
    By Johnnymushio in forum Computer hardware and software
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-08-2007, 07:06 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •