Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: "expand" button of expandableticker script not working on master page.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Angry "expand" button of expandableticker script not working on master page.

    1) Script Title: Expandable Drop Down Ticker

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...ableticker.htm

    3) Describe problem:

    Hi Folks. This script seems to work fine in a "basic" HTML page. However on my site I am attempting to use it within a "master" page. The issue I am having is that the script works properly EXCEPT that the "expand" image / button are not present. (neither the image nor the button "area") are on the page.

    I have made sure that all the relevant files.. .css, .js and .jpg for expandticker are in the root of the website along with the Master page, to no avail.

    Wondering if anyone has any suggestions. The website is www.notjusthotair.com ... the ticker is on the main page, left side, and will be up shortly (within an hour from now 16:18 EST Sunday Feb 24. Guess I can live with it for the moment as it functinos without the drop down selection, but would really like to have that part functional.

    Best regards, Dave Melnyk

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,370
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 141 Times in 136 Posts
    Blog Entries
    32

    Default

    Did you include the page containing the ticker with Ajax? That might explain it. Scripts used on pages that are included via Ajax won't work.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,982
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 311 Times in 309 Posts
    Blog Entries
    11

    Default

    Also, try using an absolute path to your expand image? That's the full URL with the http:// part at the beginning
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the reply. The ticker is actually part of the master page itself as it provides a "latest news" feed. There are other javascripts also running on the master page with no difficulties, and the script does work, EXCEPT for the expand button.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    9,896
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 967 Times in 955 Posts
    Blog Entries
    15

    Default

    I don't see the Expandable Ticker script up on the page you posted yet...
    DD Admin

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Problem has been determined - bad z-index on outer shell DIV

    Hi sorry about not getting the script up on the site. Had a few client emergencies that cropped up and had to be dealt with. I have located the problem ... a z-index setting in an outer shell DIV was causing the issue. Had to start completely rebuildng the master page to find the issue, fortunately found relatively quickly.

    I would like to thank all who took time to reply and / or think about the issue.

    Best regards, Dave Melnyk

Similar Threads

  1. "Find in page" not working in Safari/Webkit
    By Dauntless in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-30-2009, 10:16 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-27-2009, 06:17 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-10-2008, 07:27 PM
  4. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 03-04-2008, 10:11 PM
  5. Script for "email a friend" and "print page"
    By pernes in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2005, 07:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •