Advanced Search

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: FrogJS not working

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question FrogJS not working

    1) Script Title: FrogJS Image Gallery

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...ogjs/index.htm

    3) Describe problem: I am working on a site and all I get once the code is inserted is a blank page. http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/dakota_38.aspx
    Can you please let me know what I am doing wrong?

    Thanks,
    Jen
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 02-25-2013 at 06:20 AM. Reason: fix link

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southeastern CT
    Posts
    586
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Default

    Try removing all the other stuff you don't need for the gallery to work.If it works then one of the other scripts is causing a problem.
    Thanks,

    Bud

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,687
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,129 Times in 3,095 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Some of the images are missing - the script depends upon all of the images being present.

    You're missing the loading image. It's configured incorrectly in the frog5.js file:

    Code:
    //-------------------------------------------------------------
    //  FrogJS v.1.1
    //  Created by Eric Puidokas (www.puidokas.com)
    //
    //  Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License
    //  (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/)
    //-------------------------------------------------------------
    
    // CONFIGURATION VARIABLES
    var thumbTop = '60px'; // distance you want you thumbnails to be from the top of their container
    var loadingAni = '/client/Dakota_Indian_Founda_KA4F8J/Images/loading.gif'; // image displayed when preloading images
    var scalePercent = '300'; // percent thumbnails expand when fading into main image
    var mouseoverpause = true; // set true to allow full user interaction onmouseover, false for limited-interactive gallery
    // Note - Gallery will pause onmouseover of t . . .
    That should be:

    Code:
    //-------------------------------------------------------------
    //  FrogJS v.1.1
    //  Created by Eric Puidokas (www.puidokas.com)
    //
    //  Licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.5 License
    //  (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5/)
    //-------------------------------------------------------------
    
    // CONFIGURATION VARIABLES
    var thumbTop = '60px'; // distance you want you thumbnails to be from the top of their container
    var loadingAni = '/Images/loading.gif'; // image displayed when preloading images
    var scalePercent = '300'; // percent thumbnails expand when fading into main image
    var mouseoverpause = true; // set true to allow full user interaction onmouseover, false for limited-interactive gallery
    // Note - Gallery will pause onmouseover of t . . .
    These scripts are giving errors (from the head of the page):

    Code:
    <script src="./prototype.js" type="text/javascript"> </script>
    
    <script src="./scriptaculous.js?load=effects" type="text/javascript"> </script>
    <script src="./frog5.js" type="text/javascript"> </script>
    I found that if I replaced the first two with these hosted versions:

    Code:
    <script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/prototype/1.7.1.0/prototype.js"></script>
    <script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/scriptaculous/1.9.0/scriptaculous.js?load=effects"></script>
    <script src="./frog5.js" type="text/javascript"> </script>
    The errors went away and the gallery displayed. The missing images (and/or perhaps something else) prevented it from working though.

    One other tip about the missing images:

    Code:
    Images/Ride/ride1.jpg
    is not the same as:

    Code:
    images/Ride/ride1.jpg
    or:

    Code:
    Images/ride/ride1.jpg
    In other words, upper and lower case letters matter on the web.

    So make sure all of the images are present, including fixing the path to the loading image. Perhaps start out with just six images or so. And make the changes as shown for the scripts.

    The browser cache may need to be cleared and/or the page refreshed to see changes.

    There could also be other problems. But get that much done. If it works, great! If not, revise the live page so we can have a look at it to see what else it might need.

    However, I found that after making the above changes and then changing all of he larger images to:

    Code:
    Images/Ride/ride1.jpg
    and all of the thumbnails to:

    Code:
    Images/Ride/ride1_thumb.jpg
    After that, the gallery worked.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 02-25-2013 at 06:14 AM. Reason: details
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    bernie1227 (02-28-2013)

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hey John!

    Thanks for your help! I have made the above edits and it is still not working.

    I did change the names to Images/Ride/ but once I hit save it changed the _thumb files back to images/ride. So I just changed the file names to lowercase.

    Any other suggestions on what I should try to get this working?

    Thanks,
    Jen

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southeastern CT
    Posts
    586
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Default

    I see this image: http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.or...ride/ride1.jpg And the loading image is on the right-which means the image path is wrong I believe.

    Okay this part is probally the problem...

    Code:
    <a title="Mankato or Bust" href="images/ride/ride2.jpg"><img alt="Supporters follow in caravan of horse trailers." src="./images/ride/ride2_thumb.jpg" /></a>
    
    
    <a title="Wokiksuye the Dakota 38 +2" href="images/ride/ride3.jpg"><img alt="Never Forget - 38 Dakota Warriors were hung at Mankato, MN on December 26, 1862. Later 2 more were hung as well." src="./images/ride/ride3_thumb.jpg" /></a>
    
    
    <a title="Riders of All Nations" href="images/ride/ride4.jpg"><img alt="The Mankato Ride is open to all people regardless of race, age or religion." src="./images/ride/ride4_thumb.jpg" /></a>
    John said in a previous post that all images need to be valid.All three images in the code above do not exist.Remove them and it may work.
    Last edited by ajfmrf; 02-25-2013 at 09:12 PM. Reason: found something.
    Thanks,

    Bud

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southeastern CT
    Posts
    586
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Default

    I see this image: http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.or...ride/ride1.jpg And the loading image is on the right-which means the image path is wrong I believe.
    Thanks,

    Bud

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,687
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,129 Times in 3,095 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Here's a list of missing images for the page:

    Code:
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/basicimg/menu-bg.gif
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/basicimg/menu_bg-nor.gif
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/client/images/ride/ride12_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/client/images/ride/ride22_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride19_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride20_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride21_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride23_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride24_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride2_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride3_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride4_thumb.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride2.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride3.jpg
        http://www.dakotaindianfoundation.org/images/ride/ride4.jpg
    I don't think the menu images are required for Frog to work. But all of the ride ones are.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 02-26-2013 at 12:59 PM. Reason: found 3 more missing images
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southeastern CT
    Posts
    586
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Default

    Here is a working example for you.

    http://www.web-user.info/test/frog/dakota_38.html

    Notice the urls are set to images in a directory called images-all of the images were put in the same directory.Including the menu images too.

    Also all javascripts are in a directory called scripts.Also including the any for the menu too.

    I hope this helps you see things better.
    Thanks,

    Bud

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,687
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,129 Times in 3,095 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Last I checked, they had the page working. Is there still a problem?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Southeastern CT
    Posts
    586
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

    Default

    Slider was not working when I checked it a bit ago.

    There are a bunch of thumbs neatly set up on the site but the slider was not working unless they have a different page with it working on it.

    I used the link on the initial post to visit it
    Last edited by ajfmrf; 02-28-2013 at 08:37 AM. Reason: add
    Thanks,

    Bud

Similar Threads

  1. FrogJS Image Gallery script not working
    By pallavi in forum Bug reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-29-2012, 04:07 AM
  2. FrogJS script not working, only thumbnails display.
    By WebDizzy777 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-2012, 06:44 PM
  3. Help with FrogJS
    By designshop in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-28-2009, 08:59 PM
  4. FrogJS help
    By wannarun in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-16-2008, 05:00 PM
  5. FrogJS, just a question on if this is possible...
    By A2597 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-22-2007, 09:44 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •