Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: fadeslideshow - mutiple on same page

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default fadeslideshow - mutiple on same page

    1) Script Title: fadeslideshow

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...nslideshow.htm

    3) Describe problem: Please see:

    triadproperties.com

    I need to replace those 3 slideshows with fadeslideshow since they will not display on an Apple device. I have copied the code and placed it where it needs to go. However, see:

    webs2impres.com/test_slide_shows.html

    to see what is happening. I used this code successfully on many website but only with one occurence on a page.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 02-09-2013 at 03:26 PM. Reason: Format

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,926
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,192 Times in 3,155 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    The server:

    webs2impres.com

    cannot be found. This one:

    webs2impress.com

    is OK. But has no page:

    test_slide_shows.html

    on it.

    One thing I can tell you is that you need separate and unique ids for each slideshow's div and these each must be reflected in the three on page initializations. You can't have three 'fadeshow1' divs.

    If you want more help, please include a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    It is webs2impress.com/index_test_slideshows.html
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 02-09-2013 at 04:24 PM. Reason: Format

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,926
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,192 Times in 3,155 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    In each of the on page initializations, on their third image, there's an extra " mark, example (highlighted red):

    Code:
    var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
    	wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
    	dimensions: [205, 164], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
    	imagearray: [
    		["images_fading/3322-West-End-pic_out.jpg", "", "", ""],
    		["images_fading/Nortel_out.jpg", "", "", ""],
    		["images_fading/The-Belvedere.jpg", "", "", """] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
    	],
    	displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2500, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
    	persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
    	fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds)
    	descreveal: "always",
    	togglerid: ""
    })
    By the way, if you have no links or captions you don't need any of those, they can be like:

    Code:
    var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
    	wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
    	dimensions: [205, 164], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
    	imagearray: [
    		["images_fading/3322-West-End-pic_out.jpg"],
    		["images_fading/Nortel_out.jpg"],
    		["images_fading/The-Belvedere.jpg"] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
    	],
    	displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2500, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
    	persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
    	fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds)
    	descreveal: "always",
    	togglerid: ""
    })
    There could also be other problems, but that much has to be fixed first and may be the only problem.

    The browser cache may need to be cleared and/or the page refreshed to see changes.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you so much! The first and third are now working but not the second. Also, why is the line showing under the slideshows? I do not want that.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,926
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,192 Times in 3,155 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Again, there could still be other problems but:

    West-Oak_Commons_out.jpg

    is a 404 Not Found. There is a:

    West-Oak-Commons_out.jpg

    image though, use that.

    The browser cache may need to be cleared and/or the page refreshed to see changes.

    I don't see a line, unless you mean a blank line. If you do, get rid of the p elements:

    Code:
    <td width="33%" height="164"><p align="center"><div id="fadeshow1"></div></p></td>
    <td width="33%" height="164"><p align="center"><div id="fadeshow2"></div></p></td>
    <td width="34%" height="164"><p align="center"><div id="fadeshow3"></div></p></td>
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 02-09-2013 at 05:07 PM. Reason: saw ps
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    That was it! Thank you so much for your help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Can you tell me why there is a narrow line underneath each slideshow? I have searched for a border property that could be set to black and have checked the table background color. I cannot determine where it is coming from at:

    webs2impress.com/index_test_slideshows.html
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 02-11-2013 at 02:48 AM. Reason: Format

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,926
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,192 Times in 3,155 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    What browser(s) and OS(es)? I'm just not seeing that here under Win 7 in IE 10 (IE 7, 8, 9, and 10 modes), Chrome, Firefox, or Opera.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sc_safari.jpg 
Views:	69 
Size:	20.2 KB 
ID:	4934Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sc_ie_8.jpg 
Views:	66 
Size:	29.0 KB 
ID:	4935I have screenshots showing the line visible in Safari (latest OS) and I/E 8.0.

Similar Threads

  1. FadeSlideShow pushed to left of page
    By mfloyd in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-31-2011, 05:56 AM
  2. FadeSlideShow problem - just getting a blank page - why?
    By CountryGirl in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-30-2010, 09:10 PM
  3. mutiple str_replace?
    By lankinator in forum PHP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-21-2007, 11:21 AM
  4. Help - How do I add Mutiple Javascripts....
    By tonez2fonez in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-15-2004, 08:39 AM
  5. Help - How do I add Mutiple Javascripts....
    By tonez2fonez in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-13-2004, 09:30 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •