Advanced Search

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Access file from any directory.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Access file from any directory.

    Hi,

    I want to access include file or image file from any directory in any page. my directory sturcture like

    Test
    -css (Test/css)
    -images (Test/images)
    -includes (Test/includes)
    -js (Test/js)
    -Folder1 (Test/Folder1)
    --Folder1_1 (Test/Folder1/Folder1_1)
    ---index.php ( Test/Folder1/Folder1_1/index.php)

    some of include files in include folder. if i used any file from include folder in index.php all images link and as well styling gone. If i use link like
    Code:
     include'../../includes/menu.php'
    than the menu will display but after that what i use style content in menu.php it will not work.
    I dont know how can i define root directory or server path in php and as well how to use it? This is simple thing but i confused.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    So.Cal
    Posts
    3,624
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 516 Times in 502 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by salman1karim View Post
    I dont know how can i define root directory or server path in php and as well how to use it?
    It's already defined: $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT']
    Depending on your server configuration, there may or may not be a trailing slash. In general, there is not; but you never know. You can do something like this:
    PHP Code:
    <?php
    define
    "ROOT",rtrim$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'],'/' ) );
    include 
    ROOT."/includes/menu.php";
    which removes the slash if it exists. The constant also has the added benefit of being much easier to type.
    We Only Torture the Folks We Don't Like (You're Probably Gonna Be Okay)
    It's a Party in the CIA

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    But where i have to define the
    PHP Code:
    define"ROOT",rtrim$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'],'/' ) ); 
    i have to create a separate config file or i have to define in every page. Because when i define the root path in this page (c:\inetpub\wwwroot\Test\Folder1\Folder1_1\main.php) after that its trying to fetch the file from the same folder like (c:\inetpub\wwwroot\Test\Folder1\Folder1_1\menu.php).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    So.Cal
    Posts
    3,624
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 516 Times in 502 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by salman1karim View Post
    But where i have to define the
    PHP Code:
    define"ROOT",rtrim$_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'],'/' ) ); 
    As I said, the document root is already available in $_SERVER["DOCUMENT_ROOT"]. You can use it at any time.
    Defining a constant with the value is something you can do if you wish. I suggested it because many people find it convenient, but you don't have to.

    Quote Originally Posted by salman1karim View Post
    i have to create a separate config file or i have to define in every page.
    You can only define a constant once per script execution. If you try to define it again, you'll get an error.

    If you're talking about separate pages, then yes, a config file would be a good approach.

    Quote Originally Posted by salman1karim View Post
    Because when i define the root path in this page (c:\inetpub\wwwroot\Test\Folder1\Folder1_1\main.php) after that its trying to fetch the file from the same folder like (c:\inetpub\wwwroot\Test\Folder1\Folder1_1\menu.php).
    Yes, whatever you define will remain constant—that's what a constant is; a value that never changes throughout your script.

    (From reading your original post, I thought that's what you were trying to accomplish?)
    We Only Torture the Folks We Don't Like (You're Probably Gonna Be Okay)
    It's a Party in the CIA

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    yes i am trying to manage the code. we have 4 to 6 sub menus. i want to create separate folder for each menu.in that case all code will be manage. once i reached the goal; i shall let u know. thanks for your support.

Similar Threads

  1. Listing file in a directory problem
    By arsenalbates in forum PHP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-23-2011, 06:22 PM
  2. Restrict access to directory
    By Schmoopy in forum Other
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 06-12-2009, 08:12 PM
  3. File access via php
    By neo_philiac in forum PHP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-12-2008, 02:02 PM
  4. .htaccess directory access
    By CoolD78 in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-03-2008, 05:56 PM
  5. file and directory permissions
    By kosi in forum PHP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 05-30-2007, 08:59 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •