Advanced Search

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: DDSmoothMenu and ASP.Net

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default DDSmoothMenu and ASP.Net

    I'm coding a ASP.Net web site (using VS2012), and my browser is FF17.0.1 and IE9. (using jquery 1.8.3, jquery-ui 1.9.2, and modernizer 2.6.2)

    I tried implementing the multi-level ddsmoothmenu in a master page, and the top-level menu shows up, but the drop downs don't display. To see if it was something I was doing wrong, I created a plain HTML page, and copy/pasted my menu div to it (as well as all of the appropriate script/css elements), and it worked fine.

    When I run the ASP.Net page under FF, I get no errors, but when I run it under IE9, i get an alert dialog that says ddsmoothmenu is not defined and it stops on the script that calls dssmoothmenu.init().

    Got any hints for me regarding the use of DDSmoothMenu in an ASP.Net web page?

    EDIT ==================

    Script link - http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...smoothmenu.htm

    Site is not available to the public because it's meant to replace my existing site, and it simply isn't ready (mostly because of this menu thing). I do not intend on replacing my current site until this one is ready to deploy. I simply want to know if there's something special I have to do for an ASP.Net web page because it's working unless I put it into a plain HTML page.
    Last edited by jsimmons; 12-13-2012 at 03:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    So.Cal
    Posts
    3,621
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 516 Times in 502 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread for the proper posting format when asking a question.
    Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.
    We Only Torture the Folks We Don't Like (You're Probably Gonna Be Okay)
    It's a Party in the CIA

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by traq View Post
    Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread for the proper posting format when asking a question.
    Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.
    Seriously? Saying "ddsmoothmenu" wasn't enough? My original post has been edited.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    12,154
    Thanks
    260
    Thanked 690 Times in 678 Posts

    Default

    Yes, seriously. It's in the rules, in the template for posting, and not really that much to ask. We understand what you mean when you just say the script title, but if you're asking for help, then it's reasonable that you'd be the one to to through the effort of linking to the script rather than expecting us to do so while helping you.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    So.Cal
    Posts
    3,621
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 516 Times in 502 Posts
    Blog Entries
    5

    Default

    Thanks for your edit.

    As Daniel says, yes, seriously. Obviously, you know which script you're talking about, but I don't have every DD script memorized. Aside from being "the rule," I think it's entirely reasonable to ask you to point at the one you're talking about.

    If I understand correctly, the script is working on a normal HTML page, but not on your ASP.NET page? I'm afraid I don't have much experience there, but my first thought would be that something is being output differently than you intend. Have you checked the output HTML markup? There may also be some others here on DD with more ASP knowledge with me. Either way, a "live" page (even if it's just a "demo" page) would still be very helpful in trying to diagnose your problem.
    We Only Torture the Folks We Don't Like (You're Probably Gonna Be Okay)
    It's a Party in the CIA

Similar Threads

  1. ddsmoothmenu (1.5) and IE9
    By stewram in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-07-2011, 08:44 PM
  2. ddsmoothmenu in IE
    By Aravona in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-06-2010, 01:35 PM
  3. DDSmoothmenu
    By marcusm in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-29-2010, 05:42 PM
  4. ddsmoothmenu not "over-lapping" another ddsmoothmenu
    By embryo1 in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-02-2009, 08:09 PM
  5. DDSmoothmenu and IE8
    By Warprunner in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-08-2009, 08:08 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •