Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Website in IE is completely messed up.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Website in IE is completely messed up.

    Hello guys.
    My problem is: my web page looks fine in every browser except IE9 (and every previous version too I guess).
    Question: What can I do to make my site look fine even in IE? Conditional comments? Never used them before.

    Here link: http://gasperowicz.pl/start.php

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 313 Times in 311 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Yes - conditional comments and dedicated stylesheets are the way to "damage-control" IE's differences.
    http://css-tricks.com/how-to-create-...ly-stylesheet/

    Remeber that the order of your stylesheets is critical. in the head section you should first link to your master stylesheet (the one that suits Firefox and more compliant browsers), then come down the ranks and maybe have one overall IE stylesheet (to fix the majority of IE glithces), and then if you need to iron out the remaining kinks in IE7/6, have a stylesheet for those too.

    Something like this;
    Code:
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="styles.css" />
    <!--[if IE]><link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="styles_ie.css" /><![endif]-->
    <!--[if lte IE 7]><link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="styles_ie7_down.css" /><![endif]-->
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 313 Times in 311 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    BTW - You might find IETester useful for trouble shooting older versions of IE: http://www.my-debugbar.com/wiki/IETester/HomePage
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    N 11 19' 0.0012 E 142 15' 0
    Posts
    1,524
    Thanks
    41
    Thanked 89 Times in 88 Posts
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default

    Just a quick note, the website also malfunctions slightly in Opera... (latest version)
    The orange bar is in the wrong place.

    You shouldn't have to use conditional statements to fix it... (except in some cases)
    Most of the time you just need to program it in a slightly different way, or add in a different rule.
    It's pretty late here so I can't take a good look at it...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you guys for your answers.

    keyboard1333, thanks for mentioning that, didn't thought Opera would render elements in other way than Firefox/Chrome. But first I must get rid of IE (;

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,380
    Thanks
    31
    Thanked 148 Times in 142 Posts
    Blog Entries
    34

    Default

    The first thing I noticed about your site is that the page doesn't have a valid doctype. You always should have one. Try to put <!doctype html> on top (before the html-tag), and see what happens.
    Arie.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    381
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    Ah i usually have this problem using DIV TABLES in ie. The only way i found to fix this problem is actually making something like this:
    Code:
    <!--[if gt IE 5.5]>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="css/ie.css" type="text/css" />
    <![endif]-->
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="css/main.css" />
    gt IE 5.5 means greater then.
    In that stylesheet ive the objects that contain the
    display: table-cell and added a float left into one style like this:
    Code:
    .left, .right {
    	float:left;
    }
    For me that fixed my problem.
    Let me know if that doesnt work.

    Reason: IE doesnt not read div tables

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by molendijk View Post
    The first thing I noticed about your site is that the page doesn't have a valid doctype. You always should have one. Try to put <!doctype html> on top (before the html-tag), and see what happens.
    Arie.
    It does have valid one, since I'm converting page to HTML5.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    29
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Crazykld69 View Post
    Ah i usually have this problem using DIV TABLES in ie. The only way i found to fix this problem is actually making something like this:
    Code:
    <!--[if gt IE 5.5]>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="css/ie.css" type="text/css" />
    <![endif]-->
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="css/main.css" />
    gt IE 5.5 means greater then.
    In that stylesheet ive the objects that contain the
    display: table-cell and added a float left into one style like this:
    Code:
    .left, .right {
    	float:left;
    }
    For me that fixed my problem.
    Let me know if that doesnt work.

    Reason: IE doesnt not read div tables
    I'm not using any display: table-cell in my css.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    381
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    Crap I'm in South Carolina until Sunday. If you can wait until that long I can go thru your code more extensively and actually see what's going on. To me it seems like a float issue but I could be wrong. Ill check once I get back unless you fix it before then

Similar Threads

  1. Script messed up in IE
    By Marylander in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-12-2009, 05:12 PM
  2. site all messed up in IE6
    By isntworkdull in forum CSS
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-02-2008, 07:57 AM
  3. Help: New website layout messed up in FF (IE7 works fine)
    By TheCrazyLexx in forum Looking for such a script or service
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-08-2007, 04:55 PM
  4. HELP! It's all messed up!
    By Erika in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 02-10-2007, 03:07 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •