Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: AnyLink CSS Menu - Menu Overlaps Anchor Text

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Red face AnyLink CSS Menu - Menu Overlaps Anchor Text

    1) Script Title: AnyLink CSS Menu

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...anylinkcss.htm

    3) Describe problem: I've used this menu script lots of times, however this time I am using text as the navigation instead of an image. When I mouseover the text that is suppose to have the menu, the menu does appear however it is a bit on top of the text, hiding it slightly. Is there a way to add padding between the anchor text and the menu? I would like the menu to appear about 5px lower.

    I've searched these forums and added:
    Code:
    .menuanchorclass {
    display: inline-block;
    }
    But that did not solve my issue.
    Last edited by keyboard; 11-01-2012 at 02:04 AM. Reason: Format: Code Tags [code][/code]

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 313 Times in 311 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    You'll need to post a link to your page so we can see what's happening
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Unfortunately I cannot because the page content is confidential. I have posted a screen shot with the issue demonstrated.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Picture2.jpg 
Views:	99 
Size:	95.0 KB 
ID:	4819

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Hitchhiking the Galaxy
    Posts
    1,013
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 139 Times in 139 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Code:
    position: relative;
    top: 5px;
    Positioning-wise should move it 5 px down from its current position.
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program." - Linus Torvalds
    Anime Views Forums
    Bernie

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Where exactly should I insert this? anylinkmenus.css then under the .anylinkmenu{ section?

    I tried that and it does not work. Also if I change the position from absolute to relative the menu stops working all together.

    Note I am not talking about the padding at the top of the menu before it lists the contents...I am talking about the anchor text (which in this case says "SERVICES") and how the menu slightly overlapps the text.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    1,998
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 313 Times in 311 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    It's really difficult to offer any further advice without seeing the code/CSS you're working with. You might have other CSS on the page which is conflicting. To workaround your confidentiality issues, can you create a temporary dummy page with the content removed?
    Focus on Function Web Design | Latest News RSS | Facebook | Twitter |
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps |
    The only limit to creativity is imagination: JemCon.org

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Ok I have removed confidential info: REMOVED

    The stylesheet for the menu seems to be responding when I make changes, it's just that I cannot figure out how to pad the menu away from the "SERVICES" anchor text.

    Even if I take out the other script on the page your solution does not work. Example of it here without any other scripts :REMOVED
    Last edited by vlane95678; 10-31-2012 at 11:17 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Hitchhiking the Galaxy
    Posts
    1,013
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 139 Times in 139 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Have you tried fiddling with the top value in the css?
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program." - Linus Torvalds
    Anime Views Forums
    Bernie

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I have tried the other person's advice. In anylinkmenu.css I add these:

    Code:
    .anylinkmenu{
    position: absolute;
    left: 0;
    top: 500px;
    }
    It does nothing. I've seen this fix posted in the past out here on the forums, but I can't find it. Was hoping someone knew how to solve this quickly.
    Last edited by keyboard; 11-01-2012 at 02:03 AM. Reason: Format: Code Tags [code][/code]

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    107
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I've found the post to fix this. Hope this helps someone else: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/s...tional-Problem

    inside anylinkcssmenu.js file find this line:
    Code:
    menu.dropmenu.setcss({left:posx+'px', top:posy+'px', visibility:'visible'})
    And add padding like this:
    Code:
    menu.dropmenu.setcss({left:posx+'px', top:posy-10+'px', visibility:'visible'})
    See the variable in red? It controls the padding offset from the text.
    Last edited by keyboard; 11-01-2012 at 02:04 AM. Reason: Format: Code Tags [code][/code]

Similar Threads

  1. Anylink drop down menu - Demo #3 (sub menus drop to the right of anchor):
    By pjdcreative in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-17-2010, 02:54 AM
  2. AnyLink Menu External Anchor Links
    By dmwhipp in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-29-2009, 02:53 AM
  3. Feature Content Slider overlaps main nav menu
    By RedRhino in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-07-2008, 11:31 PM
  4. Chrome menu on header overlaps content div
    By Moroose in forum Dynamic Drive scripts help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-08-2006, 01:42 AM
  5. combo box overlaps menu
    By acidcool in forum Other
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-11-2004, 03:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •