Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: News Content from Texts uploads

Thanks

Unhappy News Content from Texts uploads

Hi,

I am new to the web development, my client is looking for a simple way to upload news to his website (static/HTML), were he just upload a text file with his news content, and his site updates the news pages, basically in 3 different areas: News Portlet (Home Page), Our News page, And the News Page itself.

SO if he uploads file like "news17.text" it will be the latest news, which will be shown on the home page with link (read more) to the news page, and will also have similar content on the our news page with read more link.

So how can i make such a setup, through googling i have understood, in need ajax, or server-side includes; but I am not getting exact scripts that helps me in my scenario.

Thanks

Thanks
    Blog Entries

one option, is to use php to open the textfile and print out it's contents onto the site.
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program." - Linus Torvalds
    Anime Views Forums
    Bernie

Thanks

Is there any script for it. I dont know any thing on PHP.

Thanks
    Blog Entries

You'd just use the fopen function on the file and then echo the contents into a div
    "Most good programmers do programming not because they expect to get paid or get adulation by the public, but because it is fun to program." - Linus Torvalds
    Anime Views Forums
    Bernie

Thanks

But then I have to change all my sites from .html to .php

Thanks

Yes, you would. But it's worth it. That's the best way to do this. PHP isn't the only option. ASP, SSI and a few others are possible as well. It depends on what you want to learn and what is available on your server. PHP is most likely to be available and useful to you, but it's up to you (and your server).