Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Sticky Note with 24 cookie and also a "never display again" option.

Thanks

Red face Sticky Note with 24 cookie and also a "never display again" option.

1) Script Title: Sticky Note

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...stickynote.htm

3) Describe problem: I'd like: I'd like to change the sessions for each cookie to 7 days instead of 'per browser session" and also display a "Never Show Again" tick box or link so that the popup doesnt constantly annoy the readers of the site.

I found a similar thread where the cookie was extended to 24 hours: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/s...-Read-Addition but dont know how to go about it to 7 days and especially not how to implent the "opt out" as Im still learning . Any help would be much much appreciated thank you.

Thanks
    Thanked 3,194 Times in 3,157 Posts
    Blog Entries

I'm assuming you're using the current version of the script. That old thread was for an outdated version anyway.

Use this updated version of the current script (right click and 'Save As'):

stickynote.js

With this attached updated script you specify cookie instead of session, and if you like, optional days, example:

Code:
    var mysticky2=new stickynote({
    	content:{divid:'stickynote2', source:'stickydata.txt'},
    	pos:['right', 'bottom'],
    	showfrequency:'cookie',
    	days: 7  //<--no comma following last setting!
    })
    The keyword session is no longer valid. You can still use 'always' if you like, or an integer for displaying it at random a percentage of the time. But previous cookies, if any would have to be cleared in the browser. If 'cookie' is used and no days are specified it will be a session only cookie. If days are specified, it will persist for that many days.

The attached updated script also allows you to put an opt out checkbox in any stickynote, example:

Code:
    <div id="stickynote2" class="stickynote">