Thread: menu problems editing wordpress theme

Thanks

Default menu problems editing wordpress theme

Hi! I am just learning how to edit wordpress themes using css. I knew a little bit of css previously and enjoy problem solving, but I could use help with some of these hurdles.

Right now, I am trying to fix the menu. My page is at http://www.jillianmary.com/ . I am having trouble with the following:

a) Why are the first menu item and dropdown item hover backgrounds filling the whole box, but not the other ones? (I want the highlight to fill the whole box.)
    b) Why does the hover background on the first menu item look weird?

Help! Here is the code. Thank you.

.nav {border-top: 1px solid #d9d9d9; width: 100%;}

.dd {height: 30px; line-height: 14px;}

.dd li {float: left; display: block; border-left: 1px solid #d9d9d9; border-right: 1px solid #d9d9d9; border-bottom: 1px solid #d9d9d9; margin-left: 10px; padding-bottom: 7px; text-align: center; font-size: 16px; }
    .dd li a {color: #000; font-size: 16px; text-decoration: none; text-align: center; display: block; margin: 0 14px; padding-top: 18px; white-space: nowrap;}
    .dd li a:hover {background: #63B0B0; display: block;}

.dd li ul {position: absolute; text-align: center; padding: 8px 0 10px; visibility: hidden; background: #fff; z-index: 100; border: 1px solid #d9d9d9; display: block;}
    .dd li ul:hover {background: #B4D9D9; text-decoration: none; display: block;}

.dd li ul li {float: none; border: none; font-size: 11px; text-align: left; margin: 5px 0; padding: 0 8px; display: block;}
    .dd li ul li a {color: #000; display: inline; margin: 0 !important; white-space: normal; padding-top: 0; display: block;}

.dd li.dd_hover {background: #63B0B0; display: block;}

a.dd_hover:hover {text-decoration: none !important;}
    .submenu a:hover {text-decoration: none; display: block;}

.dd li.parent a {margin: 0 8px; padding-right: 12px; background: url("images/dd.png") 100% 24px no-repeat;}