Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Google search swapping languages

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Google search swapping languages

    Hi,

    I've just noticed a weird thing happening on my Mac in safari when i do a Google search:

    When i use the menu bar search tool (screen-shot-1) it opens up the results in japanese with google.jp address. (screen-shot-2)

    If I do the same search on the the main Google page (screen-shot-3) everything is fine and remains at .co.uk

    Please an anyone suggest how I can correct this and also why it may have happened?

    I have attached a couple of screen shots to illustrate the problem.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen-shot-1.jpg 
Views:	195 
Size:	19.2 KB 
ID:	5627
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen-shot-2.jpg 
Views:	193 
Size:	65.9 KB 
ID:	5629
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screen-shot-3.jpg 
Views:	192 
Size:	30.0 KB 
ID:	5628

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Davenport, Iowa
    Posts
    1,791
    Thanks
    87
    Thanked 92 Times in 90 Posts

    Default

    This is a mac, which I am unfamiliar with, but you should check your list of installed programs to see if there is a search toolbar helper that you are unfamiliar with. Does this happen when you use another browser like Firefox? You may also want to check your computer for viruses as a general precaution.
    To choose the lesser of two evils is still to choose evil. My personal site

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for your reply.

    It doesn't do it in Firefox, but I recently did an upgrade to FF following a prompt to do so.

    It does it in Safari whether or not I am signed into my Google account. My main browser is Safari and I never delete history, cache or cookies etc. I have Firefox set up to never remember history or accept cookies etc. I only use it to test pages whilst developing web pages ie. so it's not affected by past history or cache.

    Maybe I should delete Safari and reinstall it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    91
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Seems to have rectified itself without me doing anything. Not sure if I feel even more worried now that my mac might have a virus or such-like.

Similar Threads

  1. Google programming languages
    By bernie1227 in forum Other
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 09-14-2012, 07:26 AM
  2. search form of google in a div it's possible ?
    By grigione in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-14-2011, 10:04 AM
  3. Search bar in google
    By Bornfree in forum Looking for such a script or service
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-11-2009, 01:31 PM
  4. Search From Google
    By DannyBoy in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-26-2008, 03:56 PM
  5. Google search box
    By jc_gmk in forum JavaScript
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-23-2008, 01:56 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •