Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Complete the url

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Complete the url

    I'm not really sure if this would in html, javascript, etc... But I'm looking to see if I can have where all you have to do is complete the url and go.

    ex.:http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ would already be there and someone would just have to finish it off. ex.:http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums then go.

    Can this be done? I was hoping to have on site & go to browser/window.
    Last edited by Q Mark; 05-16-2012 at 11:37 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,026
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 108 Times in 106 Posts
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    I'm sorry, but you're question doesn't really make sense.
    Please try to provide a bit more information.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    More info, I'll try.

    I guess it would be kinda like the browsers address bar when it tries to complete the site address as you type. Except you're the one completing it and it'll be on/in the/my site and it'll go to the main window.

    I sure hope that helps explain this a little better.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Hitchhiking the Galaxy
    Posts
    1,013
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 139 Times in 139 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Sorry, its still not very clear, how do you mean, "and the person completes it" what will be the purpose of the bar?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,026
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 108 Times in 106 Posts
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    <html>
    <head>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    function travelUrl() {
    	window.location = "http://www.dynamicdrive.com/" + document.getElementById('urlBar').value;
    }
    </script>
    </head>
    <body>
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/<input type="text" name="urlBar" id="urlBar" /><input type="button" value="Go" onclick="travelUrl()" />
    </body>
    </html>

    Like this?

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to keyboard For This Useful Post:

    Q Mark (05-16-2012)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Hitchhiking the Galaxy
    Posts
    1,013
    Thanks
    46
    Thanked 139 Times in 139 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    hang on,
    did you mean as in like the search bar on the web-browser, to search content on your site?
    bernie

  8. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by keyboard1333 View Post
    .....
    Like this?
    Yes, just like that. I knew it could be done I just couldn't find any info about it anywhere or really knew how to explain it right.

    Thank you

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    2,026
    Thanks
    59
    Thanked 108 Times in 106 Posts
    Blog Entries
    4

    Default

    That's fine. Glad I helped!

    If this thread is finished, please set it to resolved.
    You can do this by editing the first post within the thread - Pressing go advanced - Then where it says no prefix, selecting resolved then save.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •