Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Deleting old data from mySQL

Thanks

Default Deleting old data from mySQL

Hi,

haven't posted here in a while, but just started using some PHP for a mySQL database.

I have a microprocessor that uploads data to a mySQL via php.

At the moment the database adds an entry for every piece of data sent, so basically the id is incremented each time.

Due to the amount of data being processed, this database is going to get pretty big rather quickly.

I have posted the current php script below.

How would I go about, and is it possible, to store 7 days worth of data and then start overwriting the data on day 8 again for example, therefore I only effectively have 1 weeks worth of data.

I am very new to PHP & mySQL, so go easy :-)

I would also like to store time as GMT (UK time).

Hope all this makes sense and any help or guidance is appriciated !

Steve

PHP Code:
    <?php
    // connect to MySQL
    mysql_connect('server','user','password') or die("Can't connect that way!");
    @
    mysql_select_db('arduino') or die("Unable to select a database called 'Arduino'");
    if(ISSET(
    $_GET['t']) && (is_numeric($_GET['t'])) && $_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']=='192.168.1.142'){

// message from the Arduino

$temp $_GET['t'];

$date date("Y-m-d H:i:s"); //echo "\n";

$qry "INSERT INTO temp(timing, temp) VALUES('$date','$temp')";

mysql_query($qry);

mysql_close();
      exit(
    '200');
    }
    mysql_close();
    ?>
    Last edited by Tissy; 09-15-2011 at 10:07 AM.

Thanks

Well, unfortunately MySQL data does not have an expiring cache. You would have to set one of your fields to store a timestamp. From there, whenever you want to put/post/get your data, check the timestamp to make sure it's not more than 7 days old. This will simulate data being no more than 7 days old.