Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Translucent pic, Fade in & Fade out pic w/ text

Thanks

Default Translucent pic, Fade in & Fade out pic w/ text

Hello,

I am working on my website. I want to make a pictures or pictures translucent. I am a TRUE novice. I need to understand how to upload the pic to the code given. I am also exploring the fade in fade out option (which again I don't know how to upload the pic or for that matter where to put the text).

Please help!

BTW- I will need for this process to be broken down step by step please!

Thanks

Fade In and Fade Out sound like dynamic effects to me-- do you need there to be movement or just having a semi-transparent image on the page?

There are three ways I can think of:
    1. Use CSS transparency effects. Not compatible with every browser, but the standard method should work most of the time and if not you could always use some browser-specific workarounds, like filters for older versions of IE.
    2. Use a photo-editing program to generate the effect. This can either be a fully opaque image that is "faded" (merged with a color) or you could create a .png file with a semi-transparent alpha channel. Alpha channels in PNGs don't work in older versions of IE, but most of the rest of the time they do.
    3. Use the image as a background and place something semi-transparent on top. Only in rare cases would this be less work than the other methods, but it is a realistic option if for some reason it's helpful.

Which of those sounds good? If you search (google, etc) for any terms in my description above that you don't understand, you will probably find plenty of information. Once you know a bit more about how you'd like to approach this, post again and we'll try to help some more.
    Daniel - Freelance Web Design | <?php?> | <html>| espa˝ol | Deutsch | italiano | portuguŕs | catalÓ | un peu de franšais | some knowledge of several other languages: I can sometimes help translate here on DD | Linguistics Forum

Thanks