Advanced Search

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Ultimate Fade-in Slideshow - no images

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Evesham - UK
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Ultimate Fade-in Slideshow - no images

    1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade In Slideshow

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...deshow_dev.htm

    3) Describe problem: This is my first visit to Dynamic Drive, and the slideshow is just what I've been looking for. I think there might be a problem with the .js file - ie where it is held. When the web page is loaded, Vista gives the message about Blocked content ( I have never used Javascript before ); when I unblock the content and refresh the page, nothing happens.

    This is in the <HEAD> section:
    [CODE]
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>

    <script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js">

    /***********************************************
    * Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
    * This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
    * Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
    ***********************************************/
    </script>
    <script type="text/javascript">



    var mygallery2=new fadeSlideShow({
    wrapperid: "fadeshow2", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
    dimensions: [400, 266], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
    imagearray: [
    ["fadephotos/img0208.jpg", "", "", ""],
    ["fadephotos/img0209.jpg", "", "", ""],
    ["fadephotos/img0210.jpg"],
    ["fadephotos/img0211.jpg", "", "", ""] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
    ],
    displaymode: {type:'manual', pause:2500, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
    persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
    fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds)
    descreveal: "always",
    togglerid: ""
    })

    </script>[CODE]

    And <div> statement is [ICODE]
    </head>

    <body>
    <div id="fadeshow2"></div>[ICODE]
    I had earlier tried putting the <div> statement in a table cell and got the same problem.
    The javascript file fadeSlideShow.js is in the same directory as the web page. which is the site root directory. If you can offer any help, or point me in the right direction, that would be really great. Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,158
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 623 Times in 619 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

    Also, make sure the filename is fadeslideshow.js, and not fadeSlideShow.js.

    To use the [code] tag, you need to close the tag:
    [code]<html></html>[/code]
    Jeremy | jfein.net

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Evesham - UK
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you for your reply - and for the correct filename. It is not possible to send you a link as I do not have a test server the site containing the problem page is local to my PC. Anything else I can do instead?? I have corrected the filename in mygallery and retried with the same result - now looking into the browser. Didn't realise the code tag was an actual convention - interesting.
    Thanks again for your help with the filename.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,158
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 623 Times in 619 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Can you try getting it online somewhere?
    Jeremy | jfein.net

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Evesham - UK
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Post

    I guess I could upload it to my live site, only hope nothing would crash - never put any 'foreign' stuff up before - can't see any reason a small test structure couldn't go there so will do that and then send the link to you - in some hours time - thanks for your patience.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,158
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 623 Times in 619 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    Just put it in it's old folder called like "Nile"
    Jeremy | jfein.net

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    I am having the same problem.

    Works on test server: http://75.126.209.56/~scotte/sarge/

    But not here: http://bottleneckwines.com/_index.php

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Evesham - UK
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Did it before I got your message - only just got back to the forum - thanks for following up so quickly about the folder - but here's the link
    http://www.hamptoninthevale.co.uk/gallerytest.html
    photos are in folder fadephotos
    I do hope you will be able to solve it - I spent ages last night looking for sites that used fadeslideshow v. 2.4 so I could check the code against what I've got, but no luck.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,158
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 623 Times in 619 Posts
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    In your javascript file:
    Code:
    var fadeSlideShow_descpanel={
    	controls: [['fadephotos/x.png',7,7], ['fadephotos/restore.png',10,11], ['fadephotos/loading.gif',54,55]], //full URL and dimensions of close, restore, and loading images
    	fontStyle: 'normal 11px Verdana', //font style for text descriptions
    	slidespeed: 200 //speed of description panel animation (in millisec)
    //No need to edit beyond here...
    You're missing a curly bracket at the end:
    Code:
    var fadeSlideShow_descpanel={
    	controls: [['fadephotos/x.png',7,7], ['fadephotos/restore.png',10,11], ['fadephotos/loading.gif',54,55]], //full URL and dimensions of close, restore, and loading images
    	fontStyle: 'normal 11px Verdana', //font style for text descriptions
    	slidespeed: 200 //speed of description panel animation (in millisec)
    };
    //No need to edit beyond here...
    Jeremy | jfein.net

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to Nile For This Useful Post:

    pikki nikki (07-08-2011)

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Evesham - UK
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Wow - just got back to the forum - sorry should have remembered about putting those images into fadephotos instead of into images folder - but curly tags? I'm so miffed I can't get to try it until tomorrow evening but I need matchsticks for my eyes at the moment!!! and away all tomorrow! However, thanks for all your help as without that I might have gone back to boring old flat web pages! Thanks a lot.

    Tomorrow evening has arrived: the news is not good - haven't yet put in }; in the remote .js - but when I changed the .js on my pc and opened the web page the script did not run. (I am using internet explorer 8)
    Last edited by pikki nikki; 07-07-2011 at 10:29 PM. Reason: to give results of change to .js file

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •