Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Floating Top Bar script does not site over flash content, please help!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Floating Top Bar script does not site over flash content, please help!

    1) Script Title:

    :: Floating Top Bar script

    2) Script URL (on DD):

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/floatbar.htm

    3) Describe problem:

    I am trying to use this floating bar on a Hotel Website. I want to basically place all the booking information on it. Problem is that there is also flash on the page. As you scroll down the webpage, the floating bar will sit behind the flash content. Is there a way to make the floating bar always ontop of everything?
    Last edited by HotelStMichel; 06-20-2011 at 01:05 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    OK, nevermind! I figured it out on my own.

    I simply used this:
    Code:
    <param name="wmode" value="transparent">
    I cant believe I forgot all about this! Thankfully I had a old website I had done, and it had this code with the flash.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    OK, Silly question. How do I get this bar to center with the rest of my site? If i put <center> tags, then all it centers is what ever is in the bar. The bar itself though does not center. I am a newbie with this stuff, so maybe I am missing something.

    Here is a link to the site so you can see what is going on. When you look at the bar, you see its all the way to the left. i would like it to be center instead.

    http://hotelstmichel.com/beta/index.html
    Last edited by HotelStMichel; 06-20-2011 at 08:59 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Anyone???????????

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,824
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 240 Times in 233 Posts
    Blog Entries
    56

    Default

    For the div having id=topbar, try position: relative and add: margin: auto.
    ===
    Arie Molendijk.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to molendijk For This Useful Post:

    HotelStMichel (06-21-2011)

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by molendijk View Post
    For the div having id=topbar, try position: relative and add: margin: auto.
    ===
    Arie Molendijk.
    OK, I will try that, thanx!

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanx Arie Molendijk, you are the best!

  9. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Now I am getting a weird space up at the top of the page. If I take the margin: auto out, the gap is gone. Then the bar is no longer centered though.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,824
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 240 Times in 233 Posts
    Blog Entries
    56

    Default

    Then adding a negative value for margin-top might help, for instance:
    margin-top:-30px
    ===
    Arie.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •