Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer - update time?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer - update time?

    1) Script Title: gAjax RSS Feeds Displayer

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...sdisplayer.htm

    3) Describe problem:
    Hello there.

    I seted this script and it works fine, but i cant see that it is updating. I still can see posts from April 30, and there is a new content on rss source.

    Script url:
    http://samo-opusteno.info/servisi/widget3.html
    API is fine, but i cant see a way to refresh those enties?

    regards.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Anyone please?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,138
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,007 Times in 992 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    The link to your page doesn't work for me. Anyhow, first thing to check is whether you're sorting the entries based on their dates, for example:

    Code:
    var socialfeed=new gfeedfetcher("someid", "someclass", "_new")
    socialfeed.addFeed("Slashdot", "http://rss.slashdot.org/Slashdot/slashdot") //Specify "label" plus URL to RSS feed
    socialfeed.addFeed("Digg", "http://digg.com/rss/index.xml") //Specify "label" plus URL to RSS feed
    socialfeed.displayoptions("label datetime snippet") //show the specified additional fields
    socialfeed.setentrycontainer("div") //Display each entry as a DIV
    socialfeed.filterfeed(6, "date") //Show 6 entries, sort by date
    socialfeed.init() //Always call this last
    This will cause the latest entries to be shown first...
    DD Admin

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for your answer.
    I guess that you tried to load page while i was working on some settings, please try again, it works now.

    Code that is on that page:
    PHP Code:
    var newsfeed=new gfeedfetcher("example3""example3class""_new")
    newsfeed.addFeed("Vestidana""http://vesti.samo-opusteno.info/category/horoskop/feed/"//Specify "label" plus URL to RSS feed
    newsfeed.filterfeed(8"date"//Show 8 entries, sort by date
    newsfeed.init() //Always call this last 
    I guess that is ok, couse that is sorted by that as i can see.

    Feed url that is used there is this (and u can see that it is different that content on html page)
    http://vesti.samo-opusteno.info/category/horoskop/feed/

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    sorry, bump again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Please, i still need help, update is still the same...Any suggestions would be grateful.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Can't really help you with that code, but try SimplePie. (http://simplepie.org/)

    You could also try this: http://feeds.feedburner.com/Samo-opustenoinfoHoroskop as the feed url

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,138
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,007 Times in 992 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Nightmaster, is your feed updated very frequently, such as a few times a day? If so the issue may simply be due to the way Google Feeds API (the backend powering this script) caching the feeds for a few hours at a time. If I view your demo page now I see entries from June 1st, and looking at your actual RSS entry, the latest are dated June 2nd 1amish. The difference between the two's dates is just a few hours, which means the script is working properly; it's displaying the latest entries not based on what you have in your RSS feed, but what Feed API has cached, which as mentioned is a few hours difference.

    If your feeds are updated many times a day and you need a script that lets you control the cache period more precisely, you'll need one that parses the feed on your own server using a server side script. RSS Display Boxes is one of such scripts.
    DD Admin

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for your kind answers, i will try as you suggested and i will come back with results.

    regards.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    25
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hello there again.
    I've just go through script that you suggested and it works fine. However i would also like to use that script outside the server, on other domain, is that possible?
    I tried to set full url in rssdisplaybox.js but it wont work when i set it:
    Code:
    var rssoutputscript="http://static.samo-opusteno.info/vesti/rssbox/main.php"
    Can you please guide me to right direction in order to fix this?

    Regards.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •