Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 'Ultimate Fade Slideshow v2.0' not working?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation 'Ultimate Fade Slideshow v2.0' not working?

    1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...nslideshow.htm

    3) Describe problem:

    Hello and thank you for your web-site and forum!

    Tried to install 'Ultimate Fade Slideshow v2.0' on my website and it is not working! NOTHING shows up in the table! HELP would be GREATLY appreciated!

    I have the following in the head:

    Code:
      {*BELOW CODE IS FOR THE DYNAMIC DRIVE SLIDE SHOW*}
      {literal}
      <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
      
      <script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js">
      
      /***********************************************
      * Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
      * This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
      * Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
      ***********************************************/
      
      </script>
      
      <script type="text/javascript">
      
      var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
      	wrapperid: "fadeshow1", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
      	dimensions: [300, 300], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
      	imagearray: [
      		["../../../images/Ztest/110115.jpg", "", "", ""],
      		["../../../images/Ztest/110825.jpg", "", "", ""],
      		["../../../images/Ztest/111225.jpg", "", "", ""] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
      	],
      	displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2500, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
      	persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
      	fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds)
      	descreveal: "none"
      })
      
      
      var mygallery2=new fadeSlideShow({
      	wrapperid: "fadeshow2", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
      	dimensions: [300, 300], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
      	imagearray: [
      		["../../../images/Ztest/111476.jpg", "", "", ""],
      		["../../../images/Ztest/111512.jpg", "", "", ""],
      		["../../../images/Ztest/111848.jpg", "", "", ""] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
      	],
      	displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2500, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
      	persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
      	fadeduration: 500, //transition duration (milliseconds)
      	descreveal: "none"
      })
      
      </script>
      {/literal}
    {*ABOVE CODE IS FOR THE DYNAMIC DRIVE SLIDE SHOW*}
    And the following in a small table:

    Code:
    {*FOLLOWING IS FOR THE DYNAMIDRIVE FADE SLIDESHOW*}    
    <table align='right' border="0" bordercolor="#fff" style="background-color:#fff" width="600" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
    <tr>
    	
    <td>
    <div id="fadeshow1"></div>
    <div id="fadeshow2"></div>
    
    {*<div id="fadeshow2toggler" style="width:300px; text-align:center; margin-top:10px">
    <a href="#" class="prev"><img src="../../../images/Ztest/110115.jpg" style="border-width:0" /></a>  <span class="status" style="margin:0 50px; font-weight:bold"></span> <a href="#" class="next"><img src="../../../images/Ztest/111476.jpg" style="border-width:0" /></a>
    </div>*}
    </td>
    
    </tr>
    </table>
    {*ABOVE IS FOR THE DYNAMIDRIVE FADE SLIDESHOW*}
    THANK YOU!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,076
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    If absolutely nothing shows up in the table, not even the toggler div for the second show, then either the markup (possibly surrounding markup) is seriously non-standard or has one or more typos, and/or the images are missing.

    Nothing else really jumps out at me though.

    If you want more help:

    Please post a link to a page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    imimin (05-05-2011)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1 View Post
    If absolutely nothing shows up in the table, not even the toggler div for the second show, then either the markup (possibly surrounding markup) is seriously non-standard or has one or more typos, and/or the images are missing.

    Nothing else really jumps out at me though.

    If you want more help:

    Please post a link to a page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.
    Thank you! Do you see anything wrong with the way I have the code configured above? My site is in dev and closed at the time. I can open it for a few minutes to let you look at the code OR I can send you the source code view for you to look at? Which do you prefer?

    I remember on the older versions of FadeShow that you had to have have the entire coding in the page? I notice at the top of the scripting some is called remotely:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    
    <script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js">
    could this cause a problem??
    Last edited by imimin; 05-05-2011 at 07:57 PM.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,076
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Nothing jumped out at me, the code looked good.

    However, the remote scripts must be present. The first one:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    Is hosted by Google, so it's there like 99.99% of the time. The other one:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js">
    is available for download on the demo page and is to be downloaded from there and placed in the same folder as your page that's using it. Did you do that?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    imimin (05-05-2011)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    NO!
    Didn't know I needed to. I had a hunch though I should!

    Should I just replace it just as it is over the
    <script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js"> code? If not, where EXACTLY should I place it?

    Should I do the same with the jquery.min.js code?

    Thanks!

  8. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    OK, I got it to work! Thank you for your help!

    I put the code in place of the links and it worked! It took me a little while to figure out exactly how to do it. I finally figured out I needed to enclose each one (the fadeslideshow.js and the jquery.min.js) in their own <script></script> tag sets. Is it a good idea to have both hard coded on my page? It would be nice if all this was explained on the download page!

    Thanks again John for your help! You are awesome!

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    29,076
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 3,216 Times in 3,178 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    You can do it that way. However, that's not what I meant, or what the download page says to do. You may leave these:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    
    <script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js">
    
    /***********************************************
    * Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
    * This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
    * Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
    ***********************************************/
    
    </script>
    exactly the way they are on the demo page page. All you needed to do was download the fadeslideshow.js file and put it in the same folder as the page.

    Do know what a folder is?
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    imimin (05-06-2011)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •