Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Conflict between Nivo Slider and Image Crawler

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Conflict between Nivo Slider and Image Crawler

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...wler/index.htm

    I'm having a conflict between Nivo Slider and DD Image Crawler on the same page. The crawler works but the Nivo Slider doesn't. If I remove the Crawler the Nivo slider works.
    Any ideas?

    I just noticed that the problem is only in IE, FF renders both perfectly.
    Lasa2
    Last edited by lasa2; 05-04-2011 at 12:07 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    What version of IE are you using?

    Even with that information, which is very important, it would be pointless to speculate without seeing it live.

    If you want more help:

    Please post a link to a page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Thanks John,
    Sorry about that here's a sample... I'm on IE8
    http://www.threefooter.com/dcrawler/
    I remove the Crawler and the Nivo works...

    I have all the variable on there just as a reminder...

    Thanks for your time,

    Lasa2
    Last edited by lasa2; 05-05-2011 at 02:28 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    For these two scripts to work together apparently requires a standards invoking DOCTYPE for IE.

    Seems fine in IE 9 standards mode. However, your example page is written in Quirks. So I would change to a standards invoking DOCTYPE. I currently prefer:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html>
    But the closest to what you currently have is:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
    Either will do, pick one and replace:

    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
    with it.

    That takes care of IE 9. For IE 7 and 8 there's a typo in the slider division that must be fixed (IE 9 and Firefox are error correcting this):

    Code:
     <div id="slider">
    <img src="images/1.jpg" alt="" />
    <img src="images/2.jpg" alt="" title="#htmlcaption" />
    </a><img src="images/3.jpg" alt="" title="This is an example of a caption" />
    <img src="images/4.jpg" alt="" /> 
    </div>
    Simply remove that stray closing a tag.

    That takes care of things.

    However, I'm wondering how crawler_ie.js varies from the official version. Is it just the persistence feature you are after, or have you made additional changes?

    Edit: After a bit of investigation, I answered my own question, it's just the persistence you're after. That being the case, you should update to this version of the crawler script:

    Attachment 3868

    It also includes updates to the crawler sizing routines that avoid a crash in some browsers. This is particularly important since your crawler has ads. Ad block software might remove all content from it, that's what causes the crash in the older version.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 05-05-2011 at 04:14 PM. Reason: add updated persist version of the script
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Thanks a ton... That </a> keeps popping it head ?... I must have somehow saved it from some error riddled earlier attempt.
    Thanks for the update as well!

    Lasa2

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    6
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    No I didn't do any changes but while I was testing it I kept different versions... a little spooked about losing the original in a "save"..
    Wish I understood it enough to add something to it..

    Regards,

    Frank

    I had a eariler post about the crawler possibly going vertical?
    If not you know of anything that has that "no gap" but in vertical...

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •