Thread: Noobe - Upload and Display Images by Users

Thanks

Default Noobe - Upload and Display Images by Users

Hi All,

I've been doing computer 'stuff' for awhile but, I'm new to web design. I've used Serif's "WebPlus X4" to design a website for a parent-to-parent group, http://www.fcawinchester.org. The member pages are password protected. They contain a forum and chat features, by WebPlus (Serif) and hosted by them too.

I'd like the members to be able to upload files and pictures. Files, non-picture, would update a download-able file list. Pictures would be added to a gallery. One script does not need to be able to discern between file types. The ability to have separate albums would be great as would descriptions.

Part of what I'm trying to achieve is to replicate Yahoo's groups features on my website. I have used Google's calendar and find it useful. If I could embed Picasa Web that would be fine too. Whatever the solution, it needs to be simple. Most of the parents are not computer literate.

Any suggestions would be appreciated; including comments on the website itself.

Thanks in advance!
    Eric

Thanks

What you are describing will not be simple to create. You could use an existing system that does all of this for you or dive right in to learn PHP or another serverside language, and probably a database language like MySQL too.

The first problem though is that if you are using the service of an external host, then you may not be able to modify what their server does. So how to you plan to add this on top of the existing system? Have you checked with the service provider to see if they can offer a solution?