Thread: Verticle Div Centering According to innerHeight

Thanks

Question Verticle Div Centering According to innerHeight

Alright, here's the deal, I'm fairly new to JS, I've been using it for some time, but never really took the time to learn much of it. BUT, recently I've been designing a website for a company I have an internship and am running into a few problems with my JS (or so I think).

My goal is to vertically center a div within the body. The contents of the div are pretty slim so that's why I'm bothering even doing this. I've tried everything I know right including many different appoaches with CSS. For now I've settled for a JS method on doing this because in all my time making stylesheets I've never had this problem (I've never really had to vertical cent enything though).

Here's the upper half of my body code...

<body onload="valignBody('wrap')">
    <div id="wrap">

And the function I'm passing this div's id to looks like this...

function padWrap(wrap) {
    var free_height = (window.innerHeight / 2) - 190;
    document.getElementById(wrap).style.padding-top=free_height + 'px';
    }

I suspect that I'm missing something blatenly obvious, but I'm stumped, so I came here.

Thank You,

< Vinsion.NET >

Thanks

Are you choosing how long the page is or do you at least have pre-knowledge of how long it is? Or does it vary according to viewer choices, such as browser window-width?

If you know already how long the page is, it seems you could just do the centering yourself. Where does the variation enter into it?

Thanks
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries

Wedgy, page height is never set (at least not the apparent page height when the page's true height is less than the height of the browser window), it always varies depending upon how high the browser viewport is. This can vary dramatically among screen resolutions/sizes and user preferences.