Advanced Search

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Facebox link jumps to new line in Firefox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Facebox link jumps to new line in Firefox

    1) Script Title: Facebox image and content viewer

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...ebox/index.htm

    3) Describe problem:

    I'm seeing a problem when using this script that only appears in Firefox. I have set up one menu item to use this script to open a pop-up dialog instead of navigating to a new page. When the link is clicked, the particular menu item jumps to a new line, and must be clicked a second time to actually open the pop-up. I'm not sure if this is specifically the script, or if it might be style-related. It also strikes me as odd that only Firefox is showing a problem (IE7 and Safari both work correctly).

    The specific link is the "About" button in the navigation menu on this page: http://www.espdesignconsulting.com/Mikel/

    [Temporary username and password for access removed]
    Last edited by JPry; 10-27-2010 at 03:52 AM. Reason: removal of temporary username and password

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,694
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,132 Times in 3,096 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    The username and password don't work.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jscheuer1 View Post
    The username and password don't work.
    My apologies. That should be working correctly now.
    Last edited by JPry; 10-22-2010 at 09:07 PM. Reason: adjusted capitalization

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,694
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,132 Times in 3,096 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    In your Mikel/word/wp-content/themes/esp-mikel-theme/style.css file change this:

    Code:
    #access .menu-header ul,
    div.menu ul {
    	list-style: none;
    	margin: 0;
    	overflow: auto;
    }
    to:

    Code:
    #access .menu-header ul,
    div.menu ul {
    	list-style: none;
    	margin: 0;
    	overflow: hidden;
    }
    I'm not exactly sure why that fixes it. In general that would tend to indicate that there's an uncleared contained float for that element.

    This change shouldn't create problems in other browsers but might. If so, let me know how, and let me know in which browser(s).
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    JPry (10-23-2010)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks, John, that definitely fixed the problem. And it looks like it hasn't broken anything in any of the other browsers. It would have taken me a while to think of checking the overflow property of the <ul> element.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •