Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Fadeslide Show Not Appearing

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Fadeslide Show Not Appearing

    1) Script Title: Slideshow v2.0

    2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com

    3) Describe problem:

    Up until a few days ago my fadeshow at www.dust.co.uk was working fine. Now it does not show. I have checked the coding and it is the same as another site I have (www.stardustkids.co.uk) with the same coding. I have checked code, website layout code etc but I am completely stumped. Can anyone help? Thank you

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Au contraire, there are no http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js (should be 1.4.2), fadeslideshow.js nor the on page new fadeSlideShow() scripts on the problem page.

    Both pages do have:

    HTML Code:
    <div id="homebanner"></div>
    Which is obviously meant to be the wrapperid.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi

    I am a complete html novice so would you be so kind as to give me clearer instructions on what has to be changed. I can find my way around the code okay to change it but don't really understand what it does. Thanks in advance.

    Geraldine

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Well basically there is no slideshow script on the dust.co.uk page. No:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    
    <script type="text/javascript" src="acatalog/fadeslideshow.js">
    
    /***********************************************
    * Ultimate Fade In Slideshow v2.0- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
    * This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
    * Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
    ***********************************************/
    
    </script>
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    var mygallery=new fadeSlideShow({
    	wrapperid: "homebanner", //ID of blank DIV on page to house Slideshow
    	dimensions: [530, 245], //width/height of gallery in pixels. Should reflect dimensions of largest image
    	imagearray: [
    		["acatalog/Join-us-on-facebook.jpg", "http://www.facebook.com/stardustkid?v=app_4949752878", "", ""],
    		["acatalog/Rags-for-rascals-banner.jpg", "http://www.stardustkids.co.uk/acatalog/Kids_Clothes.html", "", ""],
    		["acatalog/Pixel-Heroes.jpg", "http://www.stardustkids.co.uk/acatalog/cool_kids_t_shirts.html", "", ""],
          ["acatalog/New-Emerald-Tshirts.jpg", "http://www.stardustkids.co.uk/acatalog/Personalised-Baby-Clothes.html", "", ""],
    		["acatalog/New-collection.jpg", "http://www.stardustkids.co.uk/acatalog/Kids_Clothes.html", "", ""] //<--no trailing comma after very last image element!
    	],
    	displaymode: {type:'auto', pause:2500, cycles:0, wraparound:false},
    	persist: false, //remember last viewed slide and recall within same session?
    	fadeduration: 1500, //transition duration (milliseconds)
    	descreveal: "ondemand",
    	togglerid: ""
    })
    </script>
    or anything at all like that. In your first post you typed:

    I have checked the coding and it is the same as another site I have
    Not so. Check again. Make sure you're looking at the correct page.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Hi

    It is frustrating as that code does existing in the form of a subroutine on line 43 called Stardust Home Page Banner JavaScript. This is the same as the working site but when source code is view it is not there. I have even tried pasting the code directly in and it still does not appear. Something must be disabled somewhere but I can't find where. It is frustrating.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    But we're not talking about the stardust page, only the dust page really.

    I'd suggest forgetting about the one that works. Leave that one alone, it works after all. It's solution is probably unique to its domain.

    Concentrate on the dust.co.uk page.

    Go to:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...nslideshow.htm

    and follow the step by step instructions found there for installation. Apply them to the dust.co.uk page. If you're still having problems, let us know.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •