Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Is there a way to speed up the page loading time

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Is there a way to speed up the page loading time

    Script: Drill Down Menu (v1.6)

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...lldownmenu.htm

    Issue: I have a site using the Network Solutions eccommerce system. I don't know if this is the issue, but their system is modular where you have a top, left and right and a bottom module. The actual content for the pages goes in the middle module, this is where the Drill Down Menu (v1.6) script functions.

    The scripts works wonderfully, love it! But the page loads sooooo slow, I know that people would abandon it before they even try to see the info and go through the script.

    I mentioned the Networks Solutions set up because I don't know if this has something to do with it or if there is to much content to load.

    Here is the link: http://www.traxxion.com/forks-seals-...s-drivers.aspx
    your assistance and expertise is appreciated very much.

    Any suggestions???

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    The size of your UL might simply be getting a little too large for the script to handle effortlessly. For the time being, one way to mitigate the page from stalling is to use the Ajax option of the script to load the UL from an external file instead (see here). The way Ajax works is asynchronously, so at least it will not stall the loading of the page initially as it works in the background to load the menu contents.

    A couple of other things you should do:

    1) Remove the code in red inside your HTML page:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    
    <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="drilldownmenu.css" />
    
    <script type="text/javascript" src="drilldownmenu.js">
    
    /***********************************************
    * Drill Down Menu script- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
    * This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
    * Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for this script and 100s more
    ***********************************************/
    
    </script>
    It's redundant, as you already have a jQuery reference further up the page.

    2) Secondly, for the remaining jQuery reference on your page:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.3.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    
    <script type="text/javascript" src="ddaccordion.js">
    
    /***********************************************
    * Accordion Content script- (c) Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
    * Visit http://www.dynamicDrive.com for hundreds of DHTML scripts
    * This notice must stay intact for legal use
    ***********************************************/
    
    </script>
    Change the code in red to the below instead, which is the latest version of jQuery, and does contain some speed improvements:

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    DD Admin

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to ddadmin For This Useful Post:

    artistcsi (09-15-2010)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thank you!!! I knew there had to be a way.

    Yes, that did speed things up, but I was wondering also, since the html part is so large, would it help if I split it up into say 3 files? then the user could access 1 section at a time?

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    10,143
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 1,008 Times in 993 Posts
    Blog Entries
    16

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by artistcsi View Post
    Yes, that did speed things up, but I was wondering also, since the html part is so large, would it help if I split it up into say 3 files? then the user could access 1 section at a time?
    Splitting the menu contents into multiple files would be the best way, though unfortunately at the moment, the script doesn't support it (it will take quite a bit of modifying the script to do so). It's called lazy loading, and I may add such a feature in the next time the script is updated if there is enough demand for it...
    DD Admin

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to ddadmin For This Useful Post:

    artistcsi (09-16-2010)

  7. #5
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Thanks for the input. I am going to split it, but please let me know if you add that feature in the future.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •