Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Modify a double drop menu to a triple

Thanks

Default Modify a double drop menu to a triple

I am presently using a script provided by http://javascript.internet.com/forms...drop-down.html. This script works great, however I need three sequential drop down menus rather than the two provided in this script. I need Country > Province/State > Cities. Unfortunately I am not a programmer, but generally muddle along to a resolution. In this case I am stumped. Can anyone show me what needs to be added to that existing script to convert it into a three menu script instead of two? I apologize in advance for my lack of scripting knowledge, but much of JavaScript leaves me thoroughly confused.

Thanks

This is not necessarily the best method, but I've attached a modified version of the code to this message. It is formatted slightly differently, but I hope it should be clear what to do.

Make sure you:
    1. Adjust the function "populateState" to what is in the attachment. (I would just copy and paste the whole function, because one of the changes is hard to see).
    2. Adjust the function "initCountry" to what is in the attachment.
    3. Create the function "populateCity" written in the attachment.
    4. Adjust the HTML section to what is written in the attachment.
    5. Include the value for the variable "city" at the top of the file. (It gives examples of how to use it for a country with a state and one without).

I think that is all you have to do. I hope it does what you want.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to deathsandwich For This Useful Post:

Gregoriochavez (08-21-2010)

Thanks

Thumbs up Looks good

Thanks for that script. I've downloaded it and had a very quick look, and it looks like it might work. Let me get back to you in the next day or so when I've had time to try it. Thanks again.

Thanks