Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: javascript conflict for menu and slideshow

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Exclamation javascript conflict for menu and slideshow

    Greetings,

    I am trying to implement two different "features" on a page using two scripts at DD:

    1. Flex Level Drop Down Menu 1.1 (
    Code:
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/flexdropdown.htm
    )


    2. Ultimate Fade-in slideshow (v2.4) (
    Code:
    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm
    The menu all by itself works fine. When I add the slideshow feature, *bam* the menu ceases to function.

    Here is the link to the attempt at using both simultaneously:
    Code:
    http://www.stillwaterdwellings.com/secret-squirrel/
    I know it's a conflict of some kind. I am simply not versed enough in .js to figure this out.

    Any help is appreciated, and thanks for your time.

    herbyderby

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    845
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 189 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    What happens if you reverse the order of the links to these scripts ?
    This is what you have now:
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="flexdropdown.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    Try to put jquery on top like this
    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.2/jquery.min.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="flexdropdown.js"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript" src="fadeslideshow.js"></script>

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to azoomer For This Useful Post:

    herbyderby (08-10-2010)

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Smile

    Fabulous! That did the trick.

    I had no idea (obviously) there was a hierarchy of scripts when loading a page. I thought it just loaded them all.

    I appreciate your time!

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    28,926
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 3,190 Times in 3,154 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    It's not a hierarchy exactly. There are various considerations, depending upon the situation. In this case both the menu and the slide show require jQuery, so it must be available (loaded) to them before they run (are loaded).
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    herbyderby (08-12-2010)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •