Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Swiss Army Image Slideshow modification...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Swiss Army Image Slideshow modification...

    hello all,
    i'm trying to set two slide shows one bellow the other.this is the slide show which i use,

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...army/index.htm

    when i using two slide show, there are two controlling buttons set(i.e. << , stop, play & >>).
    now i'm trying to combine two slide shows which is controlling by one button set (i.e. when i click on the stop button, then both slides should be stop. etc....)
    i tried this on several times, but i couldn't.

    please help me to solve this problem..... thanx

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Derbyshire, UK
    Posts
    3,033
    Thanks
    25
    Thanked 599 Times in 575 Posts
    Blog Entries
    40

    Default

    Have you got a link to your website? (that would help us to see what you're trying to achieve)

    I'm not sure why you'd want to have 2 slideshows controlled by one set of controls though.
    If its to save space, there are other better suited slideshows in the DD library.
    Focus on Function Web Design
    Fast Edit (A flat file, PHP web page editor & CMS. Small, FREE, no database!) | Fast Edit BE (Snippet Manager) (Web content editor for multiple editable regions!) | Fast Apps

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    yes of course. i can put a link to a testing page.

    please visit

    http://www.haduntest.comli.com/testing/test.html

    what i want is,
    • 1st descriptions should be there

    • 1st image counter should be there

    • 1st control buttons should be there

    &
    • 2nd descriptions should be there

    • 2nd control buttons should not be there

    and
    • through the 1st control buttons, should control the both slide shows



    hope you could understand, what i'm looking for.... so please help me....
    thanx

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    The best thing to do would be to combine the images somehow, each map with its corresponding image.

    But, failing that, this is pretty good:

    Code:
    <html>
    <head>
    
    <style type="text/css">
    
    /* All Styles Optional */
    
    * {
    font-family:arial;
    font-size:10pt;
    }
    </style>
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
    
    var slides1=[]; //FIRST SLIDESHOW
    //configure the below images and descriptions to your own. 
    slides1[0] = ["images/place1.jpg", "The place of 'Shanghai'"];
    slides1[1] = ["images/place2.jpg", "The place of 'Saint Vasili-cathedral'"];
    slides1[2] = ["images/place3.jpg", "The place of 'Quattrocchi'"];
    slides1[3] = ["images/place4.jpg", "The place of 'Chile' "];
    
    slides1.counter=1; 
    slides1.use_title=1;
    slides1.manual_start=1;
    
    var slides2=[]; //SECOND SLIDESHOW
    //configure the below images and descriptions to your own. 
    slides2[0] = ["images/map1.jpg", "Map for 'Shanghai'"];
    slides2[1] = ["images/map2.jpg", "Map for 'Saint Vasili-cathedral'"];
    slides2[2] = ["images/map3.jpg", "Map for 'Quattrocchi'"];
    slides2[3] = ["images/map4.jpg", "Map for 'Chile'"];
    
    slides2.use_title=1; //use for descriptions as images title attributes
    slides2.no_controls=1;
    slides2.manual_start=1;
    slides2.delay=3000;
    
    (function(){
    	function augmentcontrols(){
    		var ctrls = ['', '', ''];
    		document.getElementById('prev0').onclick = function(){
    			iss[0].changeimg(false, 'nav');
    			iss[1].changeimg(false, 'nav');
    		};
    		document.getElementById('gostp0').onclick = function(){
    			iss[0].gostop(this);
    			iss[1].gostop();
    		};
    		document.getElementById('next0').onclick = function(){
    			iss[0].changeimg(true, 'nav');
    			iss[1].changeimg(true, 'nav');
    		};
    		setTimeout(function(){
    			if(iss[0].playing){
    				return;
    			}
    			iss[0].gostop(this);
    			iss[1].gostop(document.getElementById('gostp0'));
    		}, 3000);
    	}
    	if (window.addEventListener){
    		window.addEventListener('load', augmentcontrols, false);
    	}
    	else if (window.attachEvent){
    		window.attachEvent('onload', augmentcontrols);
    	}
    })();
    
    </script>
    
    <script src="js/swissarmy.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
    
    </head>
    <body>
    
    <div>
    <script type="text/javascript">new inter_slide(slides1)</script>
    </div>
    <br>
    
    <div>
    <script type="text/javascript">new inter_slide(slides2)</script>
    </div>
    
    </body>
    </html>
    The only problem is, on slower connections, the shows might not sync up. That's why I suggest combining the images. However, as Beverleyh says, there may be a better script, one that could show two images at a time. Perhaps:

    http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamici...epcarousel.htm

    would be good. The images would be side by side, but at least they would be in sync, even on slower connections.
    Last edited by jscheuer1; 08-04-2010 at 07:29 AM. Reason: add alternative script
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to jscheuer1 For This Useful Post:

    hansan (08-04-2010)

  6. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    wow what a coding!
    Code:
    (function(){
    	function augmentcontrols(){
    		var ctrls = ['', '', ''];
    		document.getElementById('prev0').onclick = function(){
    			iss[0].changeimg(false, 'nav');
    			iss[1].changeimg(false, 'nav');
    		};
    		document.getElementById('gostp0').onclick = function(){
    			iss[0].gostop(this);
    			iss[1].gostop();
    		};
    		document.getElementById('next0').onclick = function(){
    			iss[0].changeimg(true, 'nav');
    			iss[1].changeimg(true, 'nav');
    		};
    		setTimeout(function(){
    			if(iss[0].playing){
    				return;
    			}
    			iss[0].gostop(this);
    			iss[1].gostop(document.getElementById('gostp0'));
    		}, 3000);
    	}
    	if (window.addEventListener){
    		window.addEventListener('load', augmentcontrols, false);
    	}
    	else if (window.attachEvent){
    		window.attachEvent('onload', augmentcontrols);
    	}
    }
    nice work jscheuer. it's really good enough

    thank you very much.
    .

  7. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question

    Oh dear! oh dear!! it is not working on IE.
    it's working on firefox and chrome nicely. then i tested on IE6 & IE7. it is showing only 1st slideshow. but not showing the 2nd slideshow.
    why it's not running on IE ?

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    SE PA USA
    Posts
    30,495
    Thanks
    82
    Thanked 3,449 Times in 3,410 Posts
    Blog Entries
    12

    Default

    Works fine here in IE 6, 7, and 8:

    http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/s...iss_army_h.htm

    Perhaps you didn't copy the entire page. Or it might be your IE browsers, where did you get them? What are they running under?

    I tested in the real IE 7, and Tredosoft's IE 6 standalone (both of these under Windows XP), as well as in IE Tester's IE 6 (under Windows 7). Worked fine in all of those.
    - John
    ________________________

    Show Additional Thanks: International Rescue Committee - Donate or: The Ocean Conservancy - Donate or: PayPal - Donate

  9. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    this is awesome!
    when testing in locally it is not working.but once it hosted, it is working fine in IE. is it problem in my IE browser???
    i downloaded IE7 from here
    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displayLang=en
    and it was running under Windows XP.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    oh! when it put in to host, another 2 problems occurred.
    1. when click on the stop button, then click >> & << buttons two slideshows are not working simultaneously (not always)

    1. sometimes can not reached to all 4 images by using >> & << buttons, it's get stuck at some point (not always)

    what can i do for this matter?
    thank you very much jscheuer.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    34
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    please visit here
    http://www.haduntest.comli.com/New%2...r/combine.html
    that problem sometimes occurred at the 1st visit.after download the page, quickly click on stop button then click on >> button. you will see the problems.

    thanx

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •